MY BOOK ADDICTION AND MORE PRESENTS REBECCA H. JAMISON AS OUR GUEST TODAY!!

WELCOME, REBECCA!!

Rebecca H. Jamison Biography

Rebecca Jamison met her husband on a blind date. His first words to her were, “Do you want to get together and play spin the bottle?”(He was trying to avoid another bad blind date, but she went out with him anyway.) Rebecca grew up in Vienna, Virginia. She attended Brigham Young University, earning a BA and MA in English. In between college and grad school, she served a mission to Portugal and the Cape Verde islands. Rebecca and her husband have six children. She enjoys running, dancing, making jewelry, reading, and watching chick flicks. You can learn more about her at www.rebeccahjamison.com

Surviving Vs. Thriving by Rebecca H. Jameson

As women, we give, give, and give some more. That’s what’s great about us. But it can also be our downfall.

Have you ever felt like you didn’t want to answer the phone because the person on the other end might be asking you for a favor? Have you ever gone out on an errand without bothering to fix your hair or make-up? Have you neglected basic self-care like exercising, eating breakfast, or flossing because you were too busy? Me too! I’ve definitely been to that place, and even though there’s really nothing wrong with it, it doesn’t make me happy.

Making Small Changes

A couple years ago, I decided I was going to start taking care of myself. I started exercising a few minutes three days a week. I put on make-up even when I wasn’t going anywhere. I wore jewelry and tried to pick clothes from my closet that looked good on me. I even bought myself some new jeans. Dressing better made me feel better about myself, and I started eating healthier food. Before I knew it, I’d lost fifteen pounds without really dieting.

I have to add that my life wasn’t exactly hunky-dory at the time I was making these changes either. I had my fair share of trials—illness and the death of a close family member were among them. But, somehow, taking care of myself a little bit helped me to feel in control of the situations.

Benefits of Small Changes

Even though I made the changes for myself, everyone around me benefited. My husband and kids started exercising and eating healthier. I’d been nagging my husband for years to stop eating candy bars every night, but he didn’t stop until he noticed that I was getting healthier. All of a sudden, the candy bars were no longer a problem. Since I had more energy, we started walking and running together. The kids also joined in, and soon we became a much healthier family.

I’m not going to feel guilty that I’m happier either. Who doesn’t want a happier mom, wife, or friend? When I take care of myself, I don’t need people to validate me because I’m already validating myself. Instead, I can validate other people. Violà! People no longer run when they see me coming.

We tell ourselves we’re too busy to take care of ourselves. In reality, when we take the time for ourselves, we have more energy to help other people.  How do you take care of yourself?

Thank you Jamison for visiting with us and our readers today!

 Persuasion: A Latter-day Tale

By Rebecca H. Jamison

When Anne broke off her engagement seven years ago, she thought she’d never see Neil Wentworth again. But when Neil’s brother buys the house she grew up in, it seems fate has other plans in store. Anne is unprepared for the roller coaster of emotions that come when Neil returns and starts dating her younger friend.

Convinced that Neil could no longer have strong feelings for her, Anne pushes away all thoughts of the past. But when the handsome man she’s been dating decides he can’t live without her, Anne must come to terms with her past.

Fans of Jane Austen’s Persuasion will enjoy this modern version of her most romantic story.

Price: $15.99

Number of pages: 240 pages

Genre: Romance

Publisher: Bonneville Books (Cedar Fort)

Release Date: Feb 7, 2012

 

Links

Blog: www.rebeccahjamison.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/RebeccaHJamison

Youtube book trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oKgM9tuCzSo

To buy:  http://www.amazon.com/Persuasion-Latter-day-Rebecca-H-Jamison/dp/1599559471/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1326255452&sr=8-1

PUBLISHER LINKS:

***GIVEAWAY***

*Sponspored by the publisher*

Thanks to Laura,at Cedar Fort we are offering 1 lucky commenter 1 print copy of “Persuasion” by Rebecca H. Jamison.Giveaway will be open to International entries.*(*If outside of North America,winner will receive an e-book copy,IF inside North America winner will receive a print copy UNLESS winner opts for an E-book copy**)Giveaway to run from today February 9 until Febrary 16,2012.No P.O. Boxes,please. Please tag,facebook,twitter,and blog about “Persuasion” by Rebecca H. Jamison.

GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!! 

