IT IS OUR PLEASURE TO FEATURE AUTHOR, JOLYN CORNELSON,AUTHOR OF “OPERATION DESERT ROSE” TO MY BOOK ADDICTION AND MORE TODAY….

MEET JO LYN CORNELSEN:(from Trafford Press)

J.L. Cornelsen, a DOD Civilian  Dependent in Germany 1984-1993,  witnessed firsthand the challenges and  trials of America’s peace-time troops  facing war-time deployment in 1990.   The story honors our soldiers and their  families, whose lives are forever  changed because they put themselves on  the line for the rest of us.

Good morning Jo Lyn and welcome to My Book Addiction and More today…..

MBA: Jo Lyn, tell our readers a little about yourself?

JLC: Thank you for asking, April.   I love stories, I love to write – I’ve got a great imagination – and I love people.  It’s natural for to me to see to the heart of why people do what they do.  And some stories just beg to be told. 

MBA:    Jo Lyn, tell our readers the inspiration behind “Operation Desert Rose”?

 

JLC: We lived in Europe during the first Persian Gulf War. My husband was a DOD civilian. Part of his responsibility was supporting the troops as they transferred through Germany en route to Saudi Arabia.  One of our neighbors was a single mom – a soldier – who had to leave her toddler behind when she deployed with her unit.  I could only imagine how challenging that was for her.  I wrote “Operation Desert Rose” with my own new baby on my lap.

MBA:   What where some of the challenges in writing “Operation Desert Rose”?

 

JLC: Writing “Operation Desert Rose” was more adventure than challenge for me.  Creating the story was an amazing and delightful process – I became so completely absorbed in the project.  It’s my family that was challenged.  My husband would come home after work and find me still at the computer in my night clothes.  He’d look at the chaos in the house and raise his eyebrows at me – and I’d look at my computer screen and back up at him and I’d say “But Honey, there was a fire!”  He would shake his head and we’d both get busy taking care of the house and the children.  And the next day, I’d do the same thing again.  It was so much fun for me – but then, I can be comfortable in chaos if I’m working toward a greater purpose. 

MBA: Tell our readers some of your writing rituals?

JLC: I actually I like variety in where and when I write.  I’m often cozied up on the couch with my laptop, or sometimes I’m on the floor, typing away with my notes spread out around me.  I might have a brainstorm in the early morning and just grab the notepad I keep by my bedside.  Mostly, I have to be comfortable and have plenty of light.  I guess you could say I work best in free-form, following inspiration.

MBA: What did you hope to accomplish by writing “Operation Desert Rose“?

JLC: There’s always more than one reason for writing a novel.  I love great stories, and I knew when I was eight years old that I would be a writer, so reaching for a personal goal was a factor.

But more than that, “Operation Desert Rose” is inspired fiction, based on fact.  I didn’t know how or when it would ever be published, but I felt inspired and even compelled to write the story – I’m not sure I could have maintained the focus to accomplish it otherwise.  So many people’s lives were affected by the Iraqui invasion of Kuwait and America’s and Europe’s subsequent connection with Arab governments.  Operation Desert Shield was a short lived military action, but I sensed that it would change history – in a monumental way – and it has.  It affected world politics, economics, and on a personal level, it has changed the lives of troops and their families all over the world. 

Our troops are real people with real families and real needs. They join the service for many reasons, they give it everything they’ve got, and then, when they return to civilian world, their extraordinary experiences most often go unnoticed and overlooked.  “Operation Desert Rose” changes that.  It  acknowledges and honors their experiences, and opens a door to healing invisible wounds. 

MBA:  Can you tell our readers a few tidbits about upcoming project(s)?

JLC: I’m not ready to reveal any secrets about my next novel, but I do want you to know that

I am donating 10% of my royalties to the new “Healers for Warriors” project.  It’s an upcoming non-profit program sponsored by TLC International Foundation, with the mission of connecting troops with natural, holistic therapies that are not yet available through traditional VA services. My goal is to sell 300,000 copies of “Operation Desert Rose” to help heal the world.  If anyone you know wants to hear more about the project, tell them to get on my “Healers for Warriors” early subscriber list.  As a gift for connecting, they’ll receive a free preview of one of my favorite scenes from “Operation Desert Rose”.

MBA:  Now, Jo Lyn, tell our readers where to find you and where to purchase “Operation Desert Rose? 

You can purchase from the book website “Operation Desert Rose” , on  Amazon , Kindle, or directly from Trafford Press

       Jo Lyn, is there anything else you wish to add?

 

JLC: Yes, of course.  I want to give you a big thank you for inviting me on your Book Addiction Blog.  I’m just beginning to get the word out about “Operation Desert Rose” and “Healers for Warriors” and I appreciate any help your readers can give in that way.  Please find and “Like” Operation Desert Rose on Facebook. 

“Operation Desert Rose” has its fair share of action, adventure, intrigue and even romance.  I hope your readers have as much fun reading it, as I did writing it.  I think the best way to judge the success of a book is by readers’ comments. So far, the soldiers who have read it and sent me their comments have told me that it’s true to their experience – and even helps them remember who they are.  That makes my day.  Here’s one of my favorite comments:

Operation Desert Rose is a beautiful story. I can’t even tell you how many times I literally laughed out loud enjoying their triumphs and I’m a little embarrassed to admit….I actually cried several times. This truly touched me. So many little things in the story brought back memories, and it’s a tale so many can relate to whether they were in the military or not. I think it is something that can appeal to the masses and it’s very uplifting at the same time. It’s inspirational, spiritual, romantic, and sexy without being gaudy, lude, cheesy, or preachy. Buy this book – it’s a definite yes!” – Shelby Austin, Former SSG US Army

Thank you Jo Lyn for taking the time out of your busy schedule to visit with My Book Addiction and More and our readers. Good luck on your future endeavors….

Operation Desert Rose,an inspirational romantic adventure.

JO LYN CORNELSEN

Published: 4/5/2011

Format: Perfect Bound Softcover(B/W)

ISBN: 978-1-42694-206-8
“Meet Toni, an Enlisted MP, and Mark, an experienced Special Ops Captain.  Reluctantly thrown together on an improbable mission and an unforgiving situation, they are charged with safe return of an impetuous young Arabian teen. A stolen ancestral weapon and a political kidnapping during the infamous invasion of Kuwait become the catalyst for their undercover international rescue mission
across the desert sands.  Follow their progress as they immerse themselves into the local culture, explore the meaning of non-fraternization, struggle to build enough trust to survive the mission, discover blessings and opportunity in overcoming obstacles, and find their lives irrevocably altered by their experience. A story of conflict, despair, hope and reconciliation, Operation Desert Rose,
set in the 1990 Persian Gulf War, chronicles the experience of two soldiers
stationed in Germany when the US Military begins to emerge from a peacetime
cocoon and transform its troops into real time warriors.”
***GIVEAWAY***
Thanks to Jo Lyn, we are offering 5 copies,yes 5 e-book (pdf) copies to 5 lucky commenters “Operation Desert Rose” by Jo Lyn Cornelsen. This giveaway will run from today January 5 until January 12,2012. ***Must place on facebook,twitter and anywhere else,come back here to let us know where you posted***

Operation Desert Rose has it’s own website, and is available at Amazon and at Trafford Press

Your purchase of “Operation Desert Rose” helps fund the Healers for Warriors program. Thank you for supporting our troops!

 

So readers go forth and facebook,twitter and anywhere else you can think of to support “Operation Desert Rose” by Jo Lyn Cornelsen…..

**Please visit www.mybookaddictionreviews.wordpress.com for “My Thoughts” on “Operation Desert Rose” by Jo Lyn Cornelsen***

