Good morning Alison and thank you for visiting with My Book Addiction and More and Merry Christmas….

Thank you. It’s a pleasure to be here. Though I have to say, I’m not allowed to say Merry Christmas until after my daughter’s birthday on December 4. She gets very testy about her birthday being overshadowed. My son’s the same way, but he was born in June when there’s no major holidays to compete with.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY  TO YOUR DAUGHTER,ALISON FROM MY BOOK ADDICTION AND MORE STAFF!!

MBA: Tell our readers a little about yourself?

   ALISON: As you’ve probably guessed, I’m the mother of two wonderful and very understanding children. They understand when I have to write, understand when I start tearing my hair out and are really understanding about bringing me tea when that’s what’s needed.


Solving problems by putting the kettle on comes from my English mother. Unfortunately, neither my mother nor my father lived to see me published. They are with me in spirit. And when I need a little spiritual kick in the ass, I have my sister who, when she was dying of cancer, insisted I make time for writing and organized babysitting and respite care so it would happen.

MBA:  Why write Western Romance?

    ALISON: You can blame my father for that. He introduced me to Louis L’Amour when I was a teenager. Westerns like Silverado and the series Bordertown also influenced me. Texas Ranger Jase Strachan started off as a mash up of Padin from Silverado, Marshal Craddock from Bordertown, and L’Amour’s Chic Bowdrie. He’s his own man now, of course.

 MBA: What is your favorite things about the Christmas holidays? Why?

  ALISON: It’s all about family for me. Growing up, we spent the holidays with my mother’s sister and family in Montreal. En route, we’d visit my father’s sister and husband. No matter what the weather – or the misadventures we encountered – we’d always make that trip.


Now I spend it with my kids, my sister’s kids and a couple of might-as-well-be-family friends. We all get stockings and have a huge lunch. Before and after the big meal we get by on chocolate and candy canes.

MBA:  As the Christmas holidays draw closer, what is one of your fondest memories for the holiday?

ALISON: Christmas 1969 — yes I was around back then — we went to Mexico for Christmas in the family motor home. This was a very ugly custom-made motor home, not a sleek Winnebago. It had beds for eight. Twelve of us were travelling south: four Bruces, six Georges, Nana Nash and my then BF Lilly. Yes, my parents were crazy enough to invite an extra kid.
The six younger kids – which included me – slept sideways on the bunk over the driver’s seat. It had a storage area at the back where we could stick our feet. Sound precarious, but it was the bunk that my twin teenage cousins were using that collapsed. I’m pretty sure my aunt and uncle weren’t in the bed underneath when it happened. My cousins had to sleep on the floor until we got to Veracruz and got a tent. We had to step around them to go use the washroom — where Nana was set up in a cot.


We camped on the beach, spending most of the day outside and most of the evening huddled around a tiny b&w TV watching the Apollo 8 mission. I don’t remember what gifts we exchanged, but we came home with some truly tacky souvenirs and great memories.

MBA:  Tell our readers where to find you and where your books are available?

 ALISON: Under A Texas Star is available in paperback at Amazon.ca , Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble; in Kindle format at Amazon.com, Nook format at Barnes & Noble, and multiple eBook formats at Smashwords.
Alison Bruce can be found at http://www.alisonbruce.ca/ and http://alisonebruce.blogspot.com/

Thank you Alison for taking the time out of your busy schedule to visit with us today:

UNDER A TEXAS STAR

ALISON BRUCE

Publisher:Imajin Books (May 8, 2011)

ASIN: B00501H6YM

Product Description(From Amazon)

Disguised as a boy, Marly joins a handsome Texas Ranger in the hunt for a con man and they must bring the fugitive to justice before giving up the masquerade and giving in to their passion.
When Marly Landers is fooled by con man Charlie Meese, she’s determined to bring him to justice–even if it means dressing up as a boy and setting off across the plains to find him.
Texas Ranger Jase Strachan is also after Meese, for crimes committed in Texas. He joins forces with the young boy in a journey that takes them to Fortuna, where a murder interrupts their mission. Jase is duty bound to find the killer, no matter the cost.
Marly carries out her own investigation and comes to the aid of Amabelle Egan, the sister of one of the suspects. But appearances are deceiving, and Marly is mistaken for Amabelle’s suitor, making her a target for the killer. Not to mention, Charlie Meese is still out there.
Under the Texas stars, Marly and Jase are drawn together by circumstances beyond their control, yet fate plots to tear them apart. Will Marly finally get her man?
***Check at http://mybookaddictionreviews.wordpress.com/for our thoughts on Alison Bruce’s “Under the Texas Star” in a few days!!***
**Part of the 25 Days of Christmas giveaway with Imajin Books,check yesterday’s post for details**
