WELCOME,CASSIEL,TO MY BOOK ADDICTION AND MORE TODAY…..

INTRODUCING CASSIEL KNIGHT, AUTHOR OF RELIC DEFENDER: KEY OF SOLOMON

WELCOME,CASSIEL….

Author’s bio:

In a job that pays the mortgage and allows her to indulge in her real passion, writing, Kim Wollenburg, writing as Cassiel Knight, works for Clackamas County in the beautiful state of Oregon. Crazily passionate about the writing industry, Kim published a paranormal romance with Samhain Publishing and has a post-apocalypse novella coming in early 2012 from Lyrical Press. She writes paranormal romances with kick-assitude that blend archeology and mythology – just a few of her favorite things. Kim is the proud current president of Rose City Romance Writers, a feisty bunch of talented writers who are just as passionate about writing as they are about helping each other succeed.
When she’s not writing or doing writing-related things, Kim enjoys spending time with her patient and loving husband of 20 years and thrives with the adorable companionship of her three Shih Tzus, Ginger, Abby and Chloe.

MBA: What made you decide to write?


“Relic Defender: Key of Solomon” if anything? Well, it’s been a while and the story has gone through
several incarnations, but what I remember that put the spark for this story was the now defunct Silhouette Bombshell line. I’d written one futuristic romance targeted for that line because I love heroines with kick-assitude (hence the tag line) and when that was finished, I wanted to write about a hurting woman
and a fallen angel – another subject I found interesting. Plus, I was watching Tomb Raider and Relic Hunter and really thought about how to combine the two. It didn’t actually work out that way – the story is light on Tomb Raider and Relic Hunter elements, but I did write about angels and demons which I also
wanted to do – long before they became popular. Oh, and I wanted to mix mystical historical details as well and Egypt. So, basically, I had a soup of wonderful ideas and Relic Defender series is how I combined them, with Key of Solomon as the first book.

MBA: How many books will be in “Relic Defender” series?

Actually,I’m not quite sure. I have at least three. Book 2, The Death Skull, is in progress and scheduled to come out next August. Book 3 is outlined and I know the story. I haven’t thought much beyond that. Yet. I love the world I’ve created and would enjoy staying there. I don’t foresee getting tired of it and there are certainly enough story ideas that it could keep going. I hope the readers will tell me whether they want the series to continue. I would certainly enjoy continuing to write it. In fact, if readers want to get a taste
of book two, they can visit my blogsite specifically set up to launch Relic Defender.

MBA: Do you feel a deep connection to your characters? Why? 

I’m not sure how to answer this. I know other writers have felt passionate about their characters and feel as if they are “real” but I’ve never quite got there. I do feel something for them. I tend to think of them long after I’ve moved on. For example, I find myself thinking of Lexi and Mikos which could be a factor of connection
or the fact I’m writing book 2. The book I’m currently shopping has a heroine I adore. Her name is Mia and I think about her a lot. However, again, this could be in connection with the fact I’m still revising the story based on feedback. I really love all my characters, even the villains. I think I have yet to write about one who is that deep connection. I think the closest I’ve gotten is this futuristic I’m working on and that’s the hero. He’s so dark and tortured that I want to finish his story and give him his happily-ever-after because he really
needs it. Good question – I’ve never thought about this before. J

MBA: Can you give our readers a few tidbits about your next project?

I just finished edits for my post-apocalypse romance coming out from my new publisher, Lyrical Press, in
February. The Lyrical page isn’t up yet, but if you want to read an excerpt, you can visit my blog at www.CassielKnight.com. I’m 200 pages into The Death Skull, book 2 (after Key of Solomon), and I’m revising a third book, the first of a separate series which I like to say is Tomb Raider meets the Librarian and is about the half-immortal children of the Egyptian Gods and Goddesses. I also have a futuristic romance about 2/3 complete I’d like to finish. Yes, I have a lot on my plate, and I love every minute of it.

MBA: What advice do you have for any aspiring authors?

My favorite from a quirky movie called Galaxy Quest with Tim Allen – Never Give Up, Never Surrender. I almost did with Key of Solomon. I had actually pulled all references to Relic Defender from my computer and
archived. But the story kept talking to me and I finally found the right editor and publishing house. And that was scary because I almost didn’t follow-up with my new editor. When I did, when I gave it one last shot, I learned she’d never seen the full. So, here’s another piece of advice – don’t hesitate to nudge. Give it the proper amount of time but then nudge. I would not be published and on my way to a career as an author if I hadn’t nudged my editor. Talk about scary.

MBA: Tell our readers a little about you, Cassie?

I’ve been a writer ever since I can remember. This, I’m afraid, isn’t as far back as most writers seemed to remember. The first time I put pen to paper to write fiction was after reading The Flame and The Flower by Rosemary Rogers. At the time, I was in high school and thought being able to write such a terrific story must be the most amazing thing in the world. Turned out it was; however, I wasn’t the writer. I still kept writing. But not fiction. I wrote for newsletters, drafted publications in the military, training outlines, business
letters and more. Everything but fiction. It wasn’t until AOL came along that I found fiction again. Actually, it was a combination of AOL, Moondust and Madness by Janelle Taylor (futuristic romance) and a dream. After I read Moondust, I fell in love with futuristic romance and started telling myself a story in my head until I went to sleep at night. I “wrote” the whole first chapter in my mind and then one night, while my husband was stationed in Guam, I didn’t stop writing the story after I feel asleep. I remember the next
morning waking up and knowing I had a story and that I had to write it. At the same time, I discovered the romance section of AOL and knew this was my dream. So, I put fingers to computer and wrote my first book, Written in the Stars which I still have and no, not sure I plan on publishing. It didn’t matter though. I was hooked on writing romance and have been hooked ever since.

MBA: How/where can our readers find you?

I do. I’m working on regularly updating my main website, www.cassielknight.com. I also periodically post on www.relicdfndr.wordpress.com and talk  about the Relic Defender series with Samhain. I’m posting tidbits of information about the series, deleted scenes and other information. The site I currently do the bulk of my posts is through www.seejanepublish.wordpress.com.

Where you can find and follow Cassiel Knight:

Author Website
Blog
Twitter
Facebook Profile
Goodreads Profile

Buy the BOOK at:

Amazon.com – Kindle
Amazon.ca – Paperback Pre-order
Amazon.co.uk – Kindle
Barnes & Noble – NOOKBook
Samhain Publishing
Lulu – eBook

 Relic Defender: Key of Solomon, Book 1 by Cassiel Knight – NURTURE Book Tour Schedule:

 Relic Defender: Key of Solomon, Book 1
Author: Cassiel Knight
Genre: Fiction – Paranormal Romance
Published by: Samhain Publishing (March 1, 2011)
Age Recommendation: 18+ for sexual situations & some violence
Format: eBook (Pre-order the paperback – February 7, 2012)
ISBN 13: 978-1609284138

Relic Defender:  Key of Solomon, Book 1 by Cassiel Knight

Anthropology PhD candidate Lexi Harrison never bares it all when she belly dances for a strip club crowd. She doesn’t have to—she’s that good. Every performance earns money toward her degree, and restores the sense of power that her painful childhood ripped away. Something is different about tonight. A man whose silver gaze seems to touch her skin beneath her veils. When a rowdy customer crosses the line, he comes to her rescue with the speed of a hawk—complete with wings. Mikos Tyomni has never seen anyone dance the raqs sharqi like Lexi. Trust his tormentor, Archangel Michael, to put him in close contact with the cause of his downfall: a mortal woman. Particularly this mortal woman. The Defender. He has only thirty days to win her trust before Hell’s deadliest demon attempts the mother of all prison breaks. No matter how sexy the messenger is, Lexi’s career plans don’t include some crazy idea that she’s the last line of defense against the forces of evil. Until her university mentor’s murder leaves her holding the key to Hell. And fighting a losing battle against a passion forbidden by Heaven.

 ***GIVEAWAY***

Thanks to Jadis and the author,we are offering 1 lucky commenter an e-book copy of “RELIC DEFENDER: KEY OF SOLOMON” by Cassiel Knight. Giveaway open globally. Giveaway will run from today October 13 until October 20,2011.

GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!

SOURCE: Received for review from the author…

MY THOUGHTS:

RELIC DEFENDER: KEY OF SOLOMON by Cassiel Knight is an exciting,fast paced paranormal/fantasy novel. Relic Defender Book 1. With a dark,sexy fallen angel,demons,a kick ass belly dancer,magical characters,suspense,danger, a bit of romance,ancient documents,bit of historical facts,mythology,archeology,shape shifter rock that has a fondness for 1920 gangster and a quest to save humanity. With strong characters, and a strong subplot,a kick ass heroine(Lexi)who is feisty,and sensual and a develish,dark sexy fallen angel(Mikos)who is looking for redemptation,no reader can go wrong. Oh,yell and a few demons thrown into the mix. “Relic Defender: Key of Solomon” is fast paced,page turning story with twists and turns. This is a must read for any paranormal,fantasy,readers who enjoy mythology, archeology, shapeshifter,demons and fallen angels. Received for review from the author. Details can be found at Samhain Publishing, Ltd. and My Book Addiction and More.

RATING: 4.5

REVIEWED BY: April Renn