Tags

, , , , , , ,


Answers provided by Karen Young

www.KarenYoung.net

MBA: Tell our readers a little about you?

Karen Young: I have been published since 1981. I often say that I didn’t choose writing as a career, but that it chose me. My husband’s career took us to many places with many changes for our family. As a result of those frequent moves, there seemed no time for me to build a career, so I started writing—almost as a lark. It gave me something to do when our daughters entered new schools and my husband got involved in a new job and after setting up a new household I had time on my hands. I sent that first manuscript off to a publisher without knowing anything about the business, never having met a writer, let alone an editor or an agent. About six weeks later, I was astonished to get a call from an editor with an offer to buy that book. What a change it made. From that day forward, I threw myself into writing the next book…and the next…and the next. So no matter where we wound up, geographically speaking, I had my typewriter (and then my word processor) and the next deadline. I honestly think we could have wound up in Timbuctoo and I would have barely noticed.

MBA: What made you decide to write the genre you write? Why?

KY: I almost retired after writing 35 books in the secular market. In fact, retirement lasted about three months. And then I got an idea for a book that included a faith element. At about that time, a friend, who was a successful author, asked if she could suggest my name to a publisher looking for an established author to write Christian fiction. Within a month, I had a three-book contract. I love writing Christian fiction. It fulfills something inside me like nothing else. I feel as if my books have more meaning and that my life has deeper purpose than before.

MBA: In your own words tell our readers a little about “LIE FOR ME”?

KY: Title: LIE FOR ME

Lauren Holloway’s ex-fiance, Tucker Kane, is without an alibi when his ex-wife is murdered. Tucker claims to have been alone at a job site at the time, but when he becomes the prime suspect in the murder, he asks Lauren to say he was with her. When she refuses to lie for him, Tucker suddenly vanishes without a trace. As the story unfolds, she faces danger, uncertainty and a crisis of the heart when Tucker reappears claiming to be innocent. Can she believe him? Can she trust him?

MBA: Where did you get the idea for this story?

KY: Like most of my ideas, it came to me out of the blue. But I liked the idea of dealing with the moral issue of lying. Everybody does it, albeit mostly—hopefully—our lies are small and inconsequential. But what if we were asked to tell a whopper of a lie? Even if the reason was good? That was the question Lauren struggled with in LIE FOR ME.

MBA: Can you give our readers a few tidbits about your next project?

KY: The title is “UNSPOKEN.” A young woman who endured a childhood watching her father abuse her mother returns to Holyfield, Mississippi, when her mother develops Alzheimer’s Disease. Only to be plunged into the mystery of her father’s death years before. Complicating things is the man she once thought she’d marry before her father put a stop to their youthful romance. He’s now a cop and wants to reopen the case of her father’s death. She wants everything about her past to stay buried…unspoken as it were.

MBA: How do you see the future of e-books vs print impacting the industry?

KY: Our industry is in deep flux. eBooks will grow and grow, but I don’t see them overtaking print. I have a Kindle, but I don’t use it for every book that I read. Some I want to hold in my hand, savor the words, page back and forth. That’s the way I see it…but that’s just me. J

MBA: What advice do you have for those who’d like to write but don’t know where to start?

KY: Read, read, read, especially in the genre in which you’ve decided you want to publish. Know the market. Attend writer’s meetings in your area. Get to know other writers. Get in a brainstorming group.

MBA: Back to your current release, who was your favorite character to write in this story? Why?

KY: None in particular, but see the next question.

MBA: Who was your least favorite or hardest character to write? Why?

KY: Tucker, the hero, who asked the woman he loved to lie for him, knowing she was a staunch Christian and considered lying wrong, sinful. Until that moment, she saw him as honorable, honest and, above all, innocent of murder. Developing a character with those kinds of major flaws while keeping the reader sympathetic was a challenge.

MBA:If you could be any person/character in history (real or fictional) who would you be and why?

KY: Abigail Adams. First of all, I’m a direct descendent. (My mother’s maiden name was Adams.) Abigail was smart and shrewd with an independent spirit. What’s not to love about a woman like that?

MBA: If you could look into the future and see things what would you hope would be the biggest change in our world?

KY: I think Americans are the finest and most honorable, decent people on the face of the earth and that our country is also the greatest. I worry about the absence of true “statesmen” in our political system today, fearing that the vision of our founding fathers is at risk. What would make great change is for our leaders to do the right thing without worrying about the consequences to them personally.

MBA: What one author/person would you say has been your greatest influence?

KY: Without a doubt, my mother.

MBA: Where can our readers find you?

www.karenyoung.net

