WE AT MY BOOK ADDICTION AND MORE WOULD LIKE TO WELCOME SUSANNA,AUTHOR OF “RAKES AND RADISHES” TODAY…..

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR,FROM THE AUTHOR’S WEBSITE:

I am a mother  to fabulous, brilliant, gorgeous children. When I am not writing, I am a part-time web developer/goddess. I drink Vouvray and listen to Brazilian Jazz, Wynton  Marsalis, Astrud Gilberto, Bruce Hornsby, Ray Charles, Diana Krall, Willie Nelson, Ella Fitzgerald, and H.  Johnson host of Jazz Classics. To the right, you can hear some the music I was playing as I wrote “Rakes and Radishes”

 

I can cook some mean Southern butter beans.  I  love my children, that guy I married, running, my iTouch, the sound of rain, and poems by Billy Collins. In fact, I love  poetry in general, but  don’t write a word of it. I keep at least seven books by my bedside. I am reading all of them.

I am blessed with awesome friends.

I’ve followed my crazy Viking husband through Denmark, Sweden, Italy, Germany, France, Netherlands, Belgium, England, and Scotland.

You can read about my latest European escapades on  my blog.  Let me know how you are doing by sending me a word at susanna@susannaives.com

 

WITHOUT FURTHER ADO, WELCOME, SUSANNA……

 

MBA:What or who inspired your writing career?

My initial writing inspiration was Joan Smith. When I was about thirteen, my mother gave me a copy of Smith’s book “Escapade.”
I still have it, though the pages are all yellowed and the cover has fallen off.  I remember that exciting feeling of going into Walden Books and seeing a new Joan Smith book on the shelf. I would stop whatever adolescent plans I had that day and read. Through the years, my mother and I have tried to collect every Joan Smith book.

As for writing, for several years I’ve taken writing classes from Shamus award winning writer David Fulmer. He has been very
encouraging of my efforts and has kept me going when I have considered quitting writing and taking up a much more healthy hobby.

MBA: Can you give our readers any tidbits into your next project?

I am writing a sexy Victorian romance/comedy.  It’s quite bawdy and loads of fun. I’ve enjoyed delving into Victorian research
which is considerably easier to find than Regency.

MBA: What advice do you have for any inspiring writers?

Make sure that you always write for the love of writing and are not chasing glory or trying to fulfill some emotional need.
Surround yourself with encouraging friends, strive to improve your craft, and always love and respect your work. Even if you write something bad, you can still see the spirit and intention behind those words. Also, locate writers who can actually improve your work and listen to them. However, it’s hard to find these people, so be careful when taking advice from writers you don’t know well or who are disrespectful of your work.

MBA:What is something you think your readers would be surprised to learn about you or your writing?and why?

I write romances whether I mean to or not. It’s my natural inclination. Most of my writer friends are mystery writers and I have
tried to write in other genres, but it isn’t a good fit.  Sometimes, I find my inability to break out of the romance genre frustrating, but I’m learning to go with the flow.

MBA: What relaxes you after a long hard day?

Long bath, soft jazz, and a nice glass of wine. Talking on the phone to a friend helps, as well.

MBA:  What is you think is your greatest asset? Why?

My family and friends. When I’ve had a bad day and am feeling sorry for myself, I remember that I am surrounded by awesome,
fascinating, and brilliant people.

MBA: If you can tell us, how do you think self publishing will help authors in the future? Would you self publish?

 

I have no qualms about being self-published. I think it will be a good option for writers in the future.  The biggest fear I
have about my writing is putting my heart into a project, doing the best work I can, and then being told it isn’t viable by a handful of editors. Being silenced scares me. Digital self-publishing gives a writer the means to display her art. It gives her a voice.

Here is the info Rakes and Radishes:

 

RAKES AND RADISHES

SUSANNA IVES

Publisher:Carina Press (September 13, 2010)

ASIN: B0041KLBEE

 Product Description:

When Henrietta Watson learns that the man she loves plans to marry London’s most beautiful and fashionable debutante, she plots to win him back. She’ll give him some competition by transforming her boring bumpkin neighbor, the Earl of Kesseley, into a rakish gothic hero worthy of this Season’s Diamond.After years of unrequited love for Henrietta, Kesseley is resigned to go along with her plan and woo himself a willing bride. But once in London, everything changes. Kesseley—long more concerned with his land than his title—discovers that he’s interested in sowing wild oats as well as radishes. And Henrietta realizes that gothic heroes don’t make ideal husbands. Despite an explosive kiss that opens her eyes to the love that’s been in front of her all along, Henrietta must face the possibility that Kesseley is no longer looking to marry at all…

 

Read an excerpt at: http://ebooks.carinapress.com/A513422D-A4BF-42B0-9B0B-575FF7F3228D/10/134/en/ContentDetails.htm?ID=61D50A99-24CC-4154-9330-794A12CD98D9

 

 

THANK YOU,SUSANNA,FOR TAKING THE TIME OUT OF YOUR BUSY SCHEDULE TO VISIT WITH US TODAY!!

 

Get Rakes and Radishes at Carina Press, Borders, Amazon, BooksOnBoard, Barnes and Noble and other online books booksellers..

 

***IF YOU HAVE NOT ALREADY READ “RAKES AND RADISHES”,I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS WONDERFUL STORY***

 

