FROM THE AUTHOR’S WEBSITE SITE:

The Usual Background Stuff

I grew up in East Brunswick, New Jersey, which is about an hour outside of New York City. I graduated from Brandeis University with a B.A. and M.A. in politics, and from there went directly on to law school at the University of Virginia.

After law school, I joined the litigation department of a large New York City law firm, and after a few more stops, am currently the head of the litigation department of Pavia & Harcourt LLP, which is located in midtown Manhattan. Pavia & Harcourt recently received some fame because it is the law firm where Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor practiced before she was appointed to the bench.


Writing: How it Started

I have always been interested in writing, and yet, oddly enough, never took any courses in college (or after) and actually never seriously tried to write until a few years ago. I showed a first draft of my work to a friend whose brother is an agent for cookbooks, and he suggested I retain a private editor, Ed Stackler.

Meeting Ed was the turning point. He was the first person who thought I had publishable talent, and working with him was like taking every creative writing course I missed in college. Of equal importance, when my first novel was finished, Ed hooked me up with my agent, Scott Miller of Trident Publishing.

And, even though Scott is a superb agent, my first novel didn’t sell. There was interest among a few houses, but no offers.

So, back to the drawing board. For my next work I decided to try something different from a legal thriller, and I wrote a political one, focusing on the nomination of a Supreme Court Justice.

A year and a half later, I excitedly sent it to Scott, my agent. He said that I shouldn’t even send it out to publishers because it would squander the good will I’d established based on my first effort. He didn’t think that it was necessarily bad, but suggested that I stick to what I knew best—New York City legal dramas.

A Conflict of Interest

Fast forward another eighteen months (but it actually didn’t go by that quickly) and I finished A Conflict of Interest. Simon & Schuster’s Gallery imprint bought it, which enabled me to meet Ed Schlesinger (what are the odds of having two Ed S’s as editors?). Like my other Ed S., Ed Shlesinger made key changes to A Conflict of Interest, which made it better.



What’s Next?

I’ve just submitted a work entitled Legally Dead that I’m very excited about. It’s about a Hip-Hop artist named Legally Dead who’s accused of murdering a Pop star named Roxanne. If it’s purchased, you’ll be the first to know!

FOR MORE INFORMATION PLEASE VISIT THE AUTHOR’S WEBSITE AT: www.adammitzner.com

A CONFLICT OF INTERST

ADAM MITZNER

Publishers Weekly

Mitzner’s assured debut, a legal thriller, compares favorably to Presumed Innocent, though the plot is less complex than Turow’s. Alex Miller, a criminal defense attorney at Cromwell Altman in New York City, meets an old friend of his parents, Michael Ohlig, at his father’s funeral in Florida. Ohlig, the head of a boutique brokerage firm, asks for Miller’s help. His firm stands accused of selling stock in a startup company he knew was worthless. Miller, who’s convinced his client is innocent despite the contrary evidence, pours himself into Ohlig’s defense, a time commitment that strains the ties to his devoted wife, Elizabeth. His law firm’s assigning Miller a gorgeous senior associate, Abby Sloane, to assist him doesn’t help. Mitzner tosses in a number of twists, but his strength lies in his characters and his unflinching depiction of relationships in crisis. This gifted writer should have a long and successful career ahead of him. (May)

SOURCE: THIS BOOK WAS RECEIVED FOR THE PURPOSE OF REVIEW FROM THE PUBLISHER FOR MY HONEST OPINION!!

MY THOUGHTS:

A CONFLICT OF INTEREST by Adam Mitzner is an exciting debut thriller.It is well written with depth and details.The cast of characters are strong engaging,intersting and will keep you turning the page.The plot while confusing at times is easy to follow.Alex Miller,a criminal defense lawyer finds that the live he imagined is about to fall apart. Michael Ohlig,an old family friend who to Alex seems like a myth appears to ask Alex for his help in a serious legal matter.Alex’s father dies suddenly and a few months later his mother dies mysteriously. Alex has an affair with a co-worker,his marriage has become murdane,he will lose his job for this affair and will find out the truth behind numerous secrets.As secrets are revealed Alex must face the question if the people in his life are truly who they appear to be. This is a fast paced,page turning story of betrayal,secrets,family,twist,turns,trust and change. A Conflict of Interest  will not only captivate its readers it will also bring them to an unexpected conclusion.A must read for any and all mystery,suspense,and thriller fans.This book is an amazing debut and this author is an author to watch out for.If you enjoy authors such as John Grisham and Scott Turow,for I have read them both you will enjoy this author also.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Gallery Books, a division of Simon & Schuster.
RATING: 4.5
REVIEWED BY: April Renn

