We at My Book Addiction and More would like to welcome Christine Ashworth,author of “Demon Soul” today..

So sit back with your favorite beverate and enjoy…..Now for our visit with Christine Ashworth..

Where do your passions lie?

Why do you write? I’ve been asked that question quite a bit, and today I’m going to go further. Why do you do anything? Aside from the things we do as par for the course – eating, breathing, taking care of our children, doing the dishes – doing anything out of the “ordinary” has to come from a deep need that pushes us beyond our comfort zone. (Sorry for the buzz words.)

Most people work a job because they like to eat, and I’m the same. I worked day jobs because I knew I could be successful, I liked the social aspect of a day job, and I liked having a roof over my head. But in order to have a career you love rather than just like, it needs to be something you are passionate about (and I’ve got to admit, I was never truly passionate about planning office space).

Then one day after seventeen years of working day jobs, I got laid off my computer start-up job, and the realization burst over me – I would now have time to write.

That was ten years ago.

I always knew I was meant to be a writer. My father is a writer, my brother was a writer, and even my mom told me fabulous bedtime stories. But when I was younger, I didn’t feel I had anything to write about yet – no stories in me. So I worked, I wrote in notebooks, I took life in, and I lived. I took writing classes at UCLA Extension. I even did the Writer’s Bootcamp for Scriptwriters, an L.A. and New York thing. But I never wrote seriously until the opportunity presented itself and I grabbed it. In the past ten years, I’ve written twelve manuscripts, sold two, and am working on a couple of new series.

In hindsight, I wish I had taken writing more seriously earlier; I would be much farther along in my career. I waited first out of ignorance, then out of fear. What if I were no good? Age and a certain arrogance finally took that last one out of the equation, but this is a business that will humble you if you’re too arrogant.

“They” say it takes ten thousand hours to master any new skill, whether writing, dancing, martial arts, painting, or learning a language. One writer estimated that was about a thousand hours a year (in between living life), thus taking ten years to a mastery. Now, I’m not saying I’m a master writer – I’m still learning this craft that I’m intensely passionate about – but I know more about writing now than I did ten years ago, and it shows now that I’m selling my work.

If you could do anything in the world, what would you do? Where do your passions lie? If you’re waiting for the right time to start, why? Is it fear keeping you from reaching out for something you think you might love? With all the uncertainties in this world, it is my belief that we can’t wait for the green light, we can’t wait for the world to bestow its approval on us before we wade into our passions. Go ahead and work on your passions. You never know what life will bring you.

 

Paranormal Romance Writer

Writer, observer, and damn fine cook!

CHRISTINE ASHWORTH:

BIO:

Christine Ashworth is a native of Southern California. The daughter of a writer and a psych major, she fell asleep to the sound of her father’s Royal manual typewriter for years. In a very real way, being a writer is in her blood—her father sold his first novel before he turned forty, and he is still writing and selling novels.

At the tender age of seventeen, Christine fell in love with a man she met while dancing in a ballet company. She married the brilliant actor/dancer/painter/music man, and they now have two tall sons who are as brilliant (and difficult) as their parents, which keeps the dinner conversation lively.

Christine’s two dogs rule the outside, defending her vegetable garden from the squirrels, while a polydactyl rescue cat holds court inside the house. Everything else is in a state of flux, leaving her home life a cross between an improv class and a think-tank for the defense of humans against zombies and demons.

 

 

 

DEMON SOUL Blurb:

…to retrieve his soul, she’ll become fire… Gabriel Caine stands on the edge of the abyss. A vampire has stolen his soul and if he doesn’t get it back soon, his next step will be into hell.

Rose Walters has been sent back from the dead to complete one task – save Gabriel Caine. But this muscled guy in leather, black jeans and a dangerous aura didn’t look like he needed anyone’s help.

Rose has touched the whole of Gabriel, making him yearn for a love he believes he can never have. Her willingness to put her human life on the line for him forces him to bring all three parts of himself – demon, human and Fae bloodlines, and the traps and gifts of each – into harmony, and into the fight that will decide their fate.

 

Excerpt from DEMON SOUL

Silence shivered through the yard. Gabriel looked to Rose, huddled against a palm tree. She’d shifted back and looked pale. He grimaced. Not exactly the way he’d wanted her training to go, but at least they’d confirmed her ability to use all the fire demon’s powers. When she’d launched herself at the demon, when he’d seen that sexy body covered in a pale orange fur, he’d almost had a heart attack. He never remembered Marianne actually becoming the demon she carried.

Gabriel looked to the sky, opened that thoughtway he’d worked so hard to block earlier. Satine. Come and get your pet while he’s still fresh. Dinner time.

You bastard,

she hissed. How dare you!

Your stink is all over him. Pick up your trash.

He closed the link, took a deep breath. His head throbbed with the brief contact. He knew death shadowed him. What made him think he could protect Rose?

A sound came out of Rose then, a half-whimper. “It hurts. Gabriel, it hurts.”

“What hurts?” He turned to her, shocked to see three claw marks deep on her left shoulder, ripping her tee shirt and reaching to her elbow. Blood dripped from her arm down into the grass. “Damn it. Let’s get inside, I’ll fix you up.”

“What? Oh, my shoulder.” She winced. “Yeah. But that’s not what hurts.” Rose put her right hand just above her hipbone. “There. It hurts there.”

Frowning, Gabriel knelt in front of her and gently lifted her hand away. He tugged at her damp black tee shirt, bared the pale skin of her flat belly. A spiral of runes rippled and moved there, a mesmerizing magical dance. Made of colored ink, and yet not ink…a tattoo, but no human hands had a part in its creation. Gabriel narrowed his eyes. If he looked closely, he could see flickers of flame and a familiar pair of eyes sliding through the runes, not quite daring to meet his gaze.

A shudder of recognition went through him as his fear came true.

The demon scent, the fire, the runes. Mephisto.

The last time all three had been in front of him, he’d killed Marianne, the girl he’d loved, while trying to kill the demon Mephisto. Ten long years ago.

Now here he was, full circle, back home with as much bad hanging around him as the last time. Mephisto was back, loaning Rose his powers. Satine was somewhere near, coming to kick his ass. And Rose, the sexy little redhead in front of him, not only carried Mephisto, but she also held part of his soul.

Gabriel had always suspected Los Angeles would be the death of him. He just hadn’t expected it to be quite so soon.

 

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Demon-Soul-ebook/dp/B004USLO6W

All Romance eBooks: http://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-demonsoul-532766-140.html

Website: http://christine-ashworth.com

Twitter: @CCAshworth

 

THANK YO CHRISTINE FOR TAKING THE TIME OUT OF YOUR BUSY SCHEDULE TO VISIT WITH US TODAY.

EVERYONE IF YOU HAVE NOT GOTTEN “DEMON SOUL”,PLEASE GO TO YOUR FAVORITE BOOKSTORE OR VISIT YOUR FAVORITE ONLINE BOOKSTORE TO PURCHASE…

                                                                                         ****GIVEWAY***

NOW FOR THE REALLY GOOD STUFF….THANKS TO THE WONDERFUL CHRISTINE,WE ARE ABLE TO OFFER A COPY OF “DEMON SOUL” FOR A GIVEAWAY..**E-BOOK ONLY**

                  MUST MAKE A COMMENT TELL US SOMETHING YOU LEARNED FROM CHRISTINE’S POST..

GIVEAWAY WILL RUN FROM APRIL 19 THRU APRIL 25,2011..IF YOU DON’T COMMENT YOU CAN’T WIN.

GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE!!

