WE AT MY BOOK ADDICTION AND MORE WOULD LIKE TO WELCOME MAUREEN BETITA,AUTHOR OF “THE KRAKEN’S MIRROR.SO SIT BACK WITH A CUP OF COFFEE OR YOUR FAVORITE BEVERAGE AND ENJOY OUR VISIT..

 FROM THE AUTHOR’S WEBSITE::

About

Who is Maureen O. Betita?

Well, I’m a writer living on the central coast of California, specifically the wondrous Monterey Bay. My specialty is romantic adventure stories featuring thoughtful heroines, offbeat heroes and settings that range from the Caribbean Sea to alien worlds. At the core to every story I write is a 2nd chances.

In April of 2007, I nearly died. My heart stopped and only the quick action of my husband saw me wake in a hospital bed days later, alive and completely bewildered as to what had happened. The doctors called it sudden cardiac death. I now have an implanted defibrillator in case it happens again. I was fortunate to survive. In being given a 2nd chance with my life, I dedicated herself to fulfilling the dream of being a published writer.

That dream is on the horizon.

I have no set office, but wander from Starbucks to Starbucks to write amidst the chaos of coffee serving mayhem. Join me on this voyage of creative discovery. Set sail to lands of imaginative adventure, erotic play and rapturous poetry.

Interesting Maureen facts

I earned an Associate of the Arts degree in Language and Literature. It took me 25 years and five junior colleges. But I enjoyed every on and off minute of it.

I am also known as 2nd Chance and blog every other Friday on the Romance Writers Revenge, a blog of pirate loving writers who believe in pirates. And in writing about pirates. And in romance, and writing about things other than pirates. But mainly, pirates.

Hi! Maureen O. Betita here, reporting live, mostly, from the Romantic Times Booklovers Convention, taking place in Los Angeles, California. Pardon my look of blurriness, it’s been a wild week full of fun and adventure and my first book panel and first signing of my book and I’m reaching the end of my rope. Really, I have to sign books now? For a public? When I look have dead?
SIT BACK AND ENJOY OUR POST WITH THE TALENTED AUTHOR OF “THE KRAKEN’S MIRROR” MAUREEN BETITA:::

 WELCOME MAUREEN…

Oh, la! The burdens of fame. (Ha!)

I see some questions I get to answer about myself…since blather is my specialty, I’ll see what I can do.

MBA: If you could travel back in time what or who would you be and why?
MAUREEN:There’s a great song by Meg Davis, “If I Had My Life to Live Over” where she addressed this question. She’d be a guard for the queen, she’d be a soldier in war…all very romantic things. And tragic. Me? I’d be a successful party who sailed with a crew that loved me and seldom had to actually resort to violence before the booty was delivered.

What can I say, I’m a dreamer!

Oh, and why? For the sun, the sailing, the stars at night…the rum.

MBA: What if anything made you decide to write not only fantasy but also pirates?

MAUREEN: Blame it on Johnny Depp. Or Errol Flynn, or Burt Lancaster. Even Geena Davis as Morgan Adams. I have always loved the idea of benevolent anarchy defeating organized villainy.

MBA: What do you hope readers will gain or get from reading your book?

MAUREEN: Wow, like do I have a message? Well, pirates are fun and you should keep reading pirate books, especially mine… But honestly, I think my high concept overriding message is this experience makes for the best adventures. My characters are not newly hatched from the egg. They’ve been around! I would pair that up with it’s never too late for a second chance. Or a third, fourth…however many it takes.MBA:  As a first time author how hard was it for you to get published?

MAUREEN: Well, I took my first official writing class at RT in 2008. I started pitching in 2009 and 2010. In 2010 my pitching inspired an agent to ask for my hand in partnership. In three months she’d sold me. That wasn’t really hard…. The editing, multiple editing, was hard. But all in all, compared to ‘real life’ and all the things that can happen? It wasn’t hard. It just took believing and hanging in there.

MBA: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

MAUREEN: The reigning queen of piratepunk (my personal made up genre) with oh…20-30 books out, still going to conferences, even if I’m riding on the of those scooter things with a pirate flag waving off the back. (I’ll paint it black and put a skull and crossbones all over it.)

MBA: Who is your favorite author/book? Why?

 MAUREEN: I get this question a lot and I swear I always answer it differently… Favorite author, so many? Charles de Lint, Jim Butcher, Simon R. Green, Eloisa James (bet you didn’t see that one coming!) Tolkien, and Walt Whitman. Picking one book? If I were stuck on a desert island…give me Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman. I could read his poetry over and over and over.

MBA: Tell us in your own words a little about the book “The Kraken’s Mirror” and what’s next?

MAUREEN: My own words? Who else’s words would I use? 😉

I actually got a very nice review I wouldn’t mind using word for word, but I’ll stick to my words.

The Krakens’ Mirror
Out of this portal comes Emily. A woman from 2010, who has lost her husband a year earlier and is at loose ends. Her immediate reaction to finding herself in the wonderland of piratitude is to assume she’s insane. So why not play along?

She is the answer to breaking his curse, a gift from the Great Albino Kraken, who watches over the Caribbean. He courts her with studied deliberation, finding himself drawn to her not just for selfish reasons. And she questions her sanity even more as she finds herself falling for him. But none of this is real! Or is it?

The Kraken’s Mirror
I want to thank My Book Addiction and More for hosting me and my pirate self! I’m wrapping up at RT about now but will do my best to check in and answer any questions periodically!

will be followed by The Chameleon Goggles, featuring two other characters from the The Kraken’s Mirror as the Kraken’s Caribbean is threatened by invasion from a steampunk world, intent on stripping mining the planet and its people. The trilogy will wrap up with The Pirate Circus…an evil ringleader with nefarious purposes…bwah ha ha! features a man with a dreadful curse of good luck. He’s a pirate captain in the Caribbean, circu 1690. But this isn’t the Caribbean we all know. This Caribbean has blenders on the bar, Ipods on the burly arms of the pirates and portals that open to other times and worlds.

 

 

 
NOW ABOUT “THE KRAKEN’S MIRROR”:::

 

THE KRAKEN’S MIRROR

MAUREEN O. BETITA

  • Pub. Date: February 2011
  • Publisher: Decadent Publishing Company, LLC
  • ISBN-13: 9781936394760
  • ISBN: 1936394766
Blurb for The Kraken’s Mirror – Maureen O. Betita
Erotic Romance
 
 
 

 

Treated by our youth-oriented society as invisible and sexless Emily Pawes attends a pirate festival to recapture the make believe magic she knew as a young woman. She wins an interesting bit of booty at a bric-a-brac stand. The Kraken’s mirror is a magical portal and transports her to a land of Hollywood piratitude, where swashbuckling heroes own iPods. With little choice, she embraces the madness, deciding she’ll play pirate until she figures out how to get home. Or wakes up in a padded cell.
Instead of men in little white coats, she encounters the handsome Captain Alan Silvestri. He is a man haunted by a strange curse. Good luck is his to command, but it comes at the cost of any place to call home or people to call family. Resigned to die shunned by all, forced to sail every three days, he begins to dream of a special woman.
When they meet, sparks fly, passion flares. He needs her to be free, but more than that, he needs her to be whole. They set sail, uncertain of who has control of the wheel, seeking to defeat his curse of good luck and discover all the Kraken’s mirror plans for them.
 
 

 

 

THANK YOU MAUREEN FOR TAKING THE TIME OUT OF YOUR BUSY SCHEDULE TO VISIT WITH US TODAY….

IF YOU HAVE NOT ALREADY READ ” THE KRAKEN’S MIRROR”,PLEASE GO TO YOUR FAVORITE BOOKSTORE NOW….

 

THANKS TO THE WONDERFUL MAUREEN WE ARE OFFERING 1 COPY OF “THE KRAKEN’S MIRROR” IN AN E-BOOK OR PRINT COPY..

YOUMUST LEAVE A COMMENT ON THIS POST TO WIN…

Giveaway will run from today, April 17, 2011 until April 24 , 2011. Giveaway is open to US and Canadian Residents only. No PO Boxes please. Winners must return to know if they win, we do NOT contact you.MUST LEAVE A COMMENT NOT JUST “PLEASE ENTER ME”…   GOOD LUCK EVERYONE!!

 

