WE AT MY BOOK ADDICTION AND MORE, WOULD LIKE TO WELCOME  ISOBEL MAITLAND,HEROINE OF  “SECRETS OF A PROPER COUNTESS” TODAY!!

             NOW SIT BACK,GRAB A CUP OF COFFEE AND ENJOY YOUR VISIT…….

THANK YOU ISOBEL AND LECIA FOR TAKING THE TIME OUT OF YOUR BUSY SCHEDULE TO VISIT WITH US TODAY………

 

FROM THE AUTHOR’S WEBSITE: http://www.leciacornwall.com/bio.php

About Lecia

Lecia CornwallI was born in the wrong century.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m devoted to the conveniences of this world, especially modern plumbing and good chocolate, but I long for the elegance, grace and adventures of the past.

I’ve always wanted to be a writer, and a historical writer at that. In fourth grade, I wrote a story about a Welsh mining pony that takes revenge for the horrible conditions in the pits. In sixth grade, my mother got a letter from the teacher after I wrote a story about a grandmotherly shop owner in occupied Europe who lured enemy soldiers into her shop and made sausages out of them. I was probably the only kid in my class who fell in love with the Masterpiece Theatre series The Six Wives of Henry VIII.

As an adult, I became a direct marketing copywriter. When my children were born, I stayed home with them (the best decision I ever made), worked as a freelance writer, and dreamed of writing fiction.

My big chance came when we moved from Ottawa to Calgary, Alberta. Unemployed, I decided to start downloading the daydreams whirling around in my head. After six years of learning and honing my craft, submitting to dozens of contests and editors and agents, I found a wonderful agent (Kevan Lyon) and sold my first book. I discovered the harder you work, the quicker luck comes calling.

When I’m not writing with a cat by my side, I’m volunteering at my daughter’s high school, or corresponding with my son at university. In the afternoon, I can usually be found walking my dog and pondering my latest plot by the beautiful Bow River.

I was born in Toronto, raised my family in Ottawa, and now live in the foothills of the Canadian Rockies with four cats, two teenagers, a crazy chocolate lab and one very patient husband.

NOW ENJOY :

An Interview With A Proper CountessToday we’re meeting Isobel Maitland, Countess of Ashdown and the heroine of Lecia Cornwall’s historical romance novel SECRETS OF A PROPER COUNTESS.

Q: Isobel, you’ve been a widow for well over two years. Why do you still wear mourning?

Oh, I’d love to wear pretty colors again! People imagine quite wrongly that I must have been deeply in love with my late husband to wear mourning this long, but it’s his will, you see. He left our son under the wardship of his brother and my mother-in-law, Honoria. The will gives them control over everything I do, everyone I befriend. Flirtation is impossible, and remarriage is strictly forbidden, or I’ll lose contact with my son. I have no control over the vast fortune I brought to my marriage, either. My brother-in-law controls the purse strings until my son is grown, and I have a limited allowance.

Q. Isn’t there any way around this will?

Well, I do what I can to make things better. I have secrets that even Honoria doesn’t know about. She’d be shocked if she knew I wear silk undergarments under these horrid half-mourning gowns! But that’s a secret only my modiste knows!

Q. What do you regard as the lowest depths of misery?

Living without love.

Q. What’s your greatest fear?

I’m terrified that the Marquess of Blackwood will suddenly realize it was me he seduced in the garden at Lady Evelyn’s masquerade! I thought I’d gotten away with it, being so completely disguised, but there are times when Blackwood looks at me across his sister’s salon, and I’m sure he knows it was me! Perhaps he’s toying with me. A scandalous reputation like his means that I’ll lose everything if Honoria finds out I even spoke to him. Yet I feel so alive when I’m in his company. I think I’ve always been a little in love with him for the very same reason I should not love him—he’s deliciously wicked, free to do as he pleases and choose whom he wishes to love, and how he wants to live his life.

Q. What qualities do you most admire in the Marquess of Blackwood?

He’s such a rogue, isn’t he? Yet it’s obvious he loves his family. He treats every woman like a lady, and every lady, well in my experience, anyway, like she was the lovliest, most wonderful female on earth when she’s in his arms. I suspect that accounts for his incredible reputation as a lover.

Q. What is your favorite virtue?

Honesty. Having to live a life in the shadows, keeping secrets and telling lies is no life at all, but I must protect my son. What other choice do I have?

Q. What are your most marked characteristics?

Under these horrible widow’s weeds, I’m hardly the prim, dull, obedient creature they think I am! Many would say I’m clever, but I’ve had to be to stay one step ahead of my in-laws, and the edicts of the will, to keep my son in my life. I’m romantic as well, which isn’t really very practical for a mother, but there is only one man who fills my fantasies.

Q. What characteristic do you most dislike in others?

Dishonesty. There are too many secrets, too many frightening unknowns in my life. In fact, I suspect that my in-laws are up to something terrible, perhaps even illegal…

Q. What’s you idea of happily-ever-after?

A happy home with the man I love and my son, without any secrets or masks between us. I want the freedom to live my life without restrictions, or at least make my own choices. Not that I would behave dishonorably. Far from it. An honorable life is what would make me perfectly happy! Oh, and a new wardrobe!

SECRETS OF A PROPER COUNTESS

LECIA CORNWALL

  • Pub. Date: March 2011
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • ISBN-13: 9780062018939
  • ISBN: 0062018930

From the Publisher

Some secrets we take to the grave. Others we just take to bed . . . 

Lady Isobel Maitland cannot afford to be caught doing anything even remotely scandalous, or she risks losing everything she holds dear. But one night, in a dark garden at a masquerade ball, Isobel gives in to temptation and lets an innocent flirtation with the notorious Marquess of Blackwood turn into passion.The Marquess is no stranger to seduction or intrigue, and his rake’s reputation disguises a deadly mission. When his mystery lover flees before he can learn her name, he knows he must find her. But all clues lead toward the prim and dowdy Isobel Maitland. It appears the lady has secrets of her own, secrets that Blackwood would dearly love to uncover . . .

                               NOW TO THE GOOD STUFF…A GIVEAWAY…

Thanks,to the wonderful,Lecia,author of  “Secrets of a Proper Countess” we have   1 copy “Secrets of a Proper Countess”, to offer as a giveaway.Giveaway only open to US and Canda residents. In order to enter this contest you MUST comment on both the review and here and tell us one thing you learned from the heroine,Isobel.

 This offer will run from today until 4/2/11 at midnight… GOOD LUCK!!

 

 

 

 

