Today it is our great pleasure to welcome author Leigh Michaels to My Book Addiction and More. So please sit back and enjoy our interview and if you have a burning question to ask yourself feel free to do so.

Leigh Michaels Interview, Author of The Mistress’ House
My Book Addiction and More; February 3, 2011

 

MBA: How hard is it to start a new series and keep up with the characters in the series?

LM: The Mistress’ House and the two books which follow (Just One Season in London and The Wedding Affair) are actually not a series, but they do have several things in common, including one character (the gossipy Lady Stone) who appears in all three. All three of the books are triple stories. In the second book and again in the third, there are three romances going on at the same time. It was a big challenge to keep all three stories in balance while the six main characters interact together.        

        

 
 

 

MBA: Why do you write historical romance during this time period?

LM: I’ve always loved the Regency period, since I discovered Georgette Heyer’s Regency novels when I was just a kid. I moved on to reading non-fiction about the Regency – so I’ve been researching the early 1800s for more years than the Regency period actually lasted! I love the social implications of the era – the titles and the clothes and the interactions of people who by and large have too much time on their hands – and some very interesting challenges to face when they don’t have the money to support the demands of society.        

        

 
 

 

MBA: Who is the favorite character(s) you have written about and why?

LM: In The Mistress’ House, my favorite character is Georgiana – she’s bright and perky and a bit naïve and absolutely determined. She surprised me again and again as I wrote her story – because she wasn’t supposed to be anything like that. I thought she was going to be a demure young lady.        

     

 
 

 

MBA: What is the craziest thing you have ever done to promote one of your books?

LM: I think it’s coming up at the end of February, when I will be giving a talk to a library group on history in romance novels – and I’ve promised to appear wearing Regency-style dress. I’m drawing the line at the corset, though! I’ll post photos on my website afterwards, unless it’s just too embarrassing to relive.

 
 

 

MBA: What do you see as your greatest accomplishment that you are most proud of in your writing career?
LM: Touching readers’ hearts. Over my 25 year career as a romance novelist, I’ve heard from many readers whose lives have been changed by my stories – from the woman who says I actually saved her life by writing about carbon monoxide poisoning (she recognized her symptoms from my description), to the woman who let go of her anger and vengeful feelings about her ex because I wrote about a divorced couple, and on and on. I’m honored to be a part of my readers’ lives.

 

 

THE MISTRESS’ HOUSE BY LEIGH MICHAELS – IN STORES FEBRUARY 2011

Three beautifully intertwined love stories…

 

The rules are made to be broken…

When the handsome, rakish Earl of Hawthorne buys the charming house across the back garden from his town home, he never expects the lovely lady he installs there to ensnare him completely…

 

Again…

After Lady Keighley marries the earl, it seems a shame to leave the house empty, so she offers it to her childhood friend Felicity Mercer, who discovers that the earl’s gorgeous cousin is precisely the man she’s been waiting for…

 

and again…

Finally, feisty Georgiana Baxter moves into the house to escape an arranged marriage, and encounters the earl’s friend Major Julian Hampton late one night in the back garden. The handsome soldier is more than willing to give her the lessons she asks for…

 

There is plenty of gossip, scandal, and torrid speculations surrounding the “mistress’ house”, but behind closed doors, passions blaze…

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Leigh Michaels is the author of nearly 100 books, including 80 contemporary novels and more than a dozen non-fiction books. More than 35 million copies of her romance novels have been published by Harlequin. A 6 time RITA finalist, she has also received two Reviewer’s Choice awards from Romantic Times, and was the 2003 recipient of the Johnson Brigham Award. She is the author of On Writing Romance, published by Writers Digest Books. Leigh also teaches romance writing on the Internet at Gotham Writers’ Workshop.  She lives in Ottumwa, Iowa. For more information, please visit www.leighmichaels.com

 

 

 

 

*Thanks to the great Danielle at Sourcebooks, INC. I’m thrilled to offer readers a chance to win 1 of 2 copies of THE MISTRESS’ HOUSE. US and Canadian residents only. No PO Boxes please. Books will be mailed from the publisher. We are NOT responsible for lost, stolen, late or misdirected books. Giveaway will run from today Feb. 2nd until Feb 7th, 2011. In order to win you must comment here with more than “enter me please” and you must comment on the review post as well. Good Luck! *

