Lydia Dare Interview, Author of The Taming of the Wolf
My Book Addiction and More; November 15, 2010

 

MBA: Can you tell our readers, who may be new to you, who you are?

Lydia/Jodie – Well, there are two of us who write together as Lydia. So, I’ll go first. I’m Jodie Pearson and I focus on the historical aspect of the Lydia Dare books.

Lydia/Tammy: I’m Tammy. I focus on the paranormal. (And the steamy parts. Shh…) I am a mom of two boys, a wife of 18 years, and I work full time.

MBA:     Your new release is The Taming of the Wolf. This is Dashiel’s story, can you tell us in your own words what his story is about?

Lydia/Jodie – To me The Taming of the Wolf is a journey of self discovery for Dashiel Thorpe, the Earl of Brimsworth. He was the villain in the previous book and so there is a lot for him to discover about himself and also a lot for him to discover at the woman who captures his heart.

Lydia/Tammy:  Dashiel is a perfectly flawed hero.  I saw a lot of potential in him in The Wolf Next Door, and I wanted to get in his head and find out what made him the villain he was. Everyone has a story; you just have to take the time to figure it out. Or make it up, in this case.  🙂

MBA:      Was it hard to turn Dashiel from a villain to a hero?

Lydia/Jodie – It wasn’t as hard as you might think. In the original version of The Wolf Next Door, we had a few scenes from Dash’s perspective. One person’s hero is another person’s villain. It all depends on whose eyes you see the story through. Dash did do some unfortunate things in the previous book, but I think it’s easy to understand him better after you spend a little time in his mind.

Lydia/Tammy: Not at all!  There’s a ton of charisma in that man. And digging into his past was easy, once he began to open up to Cait. Keep in mind that Cait had some handicaps going into the story as well. In the past, she’d been perceived as a troublemaker and a bit of a snark.  So, redeeming her was almost as much of a chore.

MBA:     Did you “mean” for Caitrin to be Dash’s heroine from the beginning or was it a surprise?

Lydia/Jodie – We were finishing up The Wolf Next Door when Tammy sent me an email saying something about – what if Dash bit Cait at the end of the book. That wasn’t what I had in mind for him at all. But I’m glad we went that direction. I don’t know that anyone else could handle him as well as she did.

Lydia/Tammy:  I know as we finished up The Wolf Next Door that Dash had a lot of potential. And I couldn’t wait to find out his past, and to create his future.

MBA:      This is the 4th book in this series, will there be more and if so who are they about?

Lydia/Jodie – Well, this is the last “wolf” book for a while. We have a “vampyre” trilogy due out in 2011. The heroines in each of these books are the rest of Cait’s coven sisters.

Lydia/Tammy:  The first coven-sister, Blaire, stumbles upon a vampyre in a Highland castle.  The wolves make some cameos, though, and we are pretty sure there will be more wolf books in the future.   

 

MBA:      What is your next series about?

Lydia/Jodie – When we sold the next trilogy, our hook was that the heroes were “gentlemen vampyres”.

Lydia/Tammy:  They’re so gentlemanly, they’d never bite a woman without being properly introduced!

MBA:      What made you decide to write about werewolves?

Lydia/Jodie – When we first decided to write together. The time period was obvious, as the Regency era is what I have always focused on. As Tammy is the resident paranormal expert – she wanted werewolves and so that’s what we did.

Lydia/Tammy: Lycans in the Regency period were a natural fit. The Regency rake already has a lot of wolfish tendencies.  Making that shift more literal was a LOT of fun.

MBA:      What do you think of eBooks and the future of them vs. print?

Lydia/Jodie – I love ebooks. My shelves are so crowded right now. So I love that I can download an ebook and not have to hire a contractor to add an addition to my house for all the books I buy in a year.

Lydia/Tammy: I read a lot of ebooks, actually. I have an iPad, which makes it easy to buy a new release without even leaving the house.  And I don’t have my husband barking at me to ask “What are you going to do with all these books?”  I still buy a book every now and then. But I do read a lot of ebooks.

 

MBA:      What is the one gift you are most looking forward to for THIS Holiday season? Why?

Lydia/Jodie – Oh, I’m mostly looking forward to the gift I’m giving myself. This season I’m taking my son out West to spend the holidays with my family. This will be the first time in his 13 years that he will be with my family.

Lydia/Tammy: The only gift I need is time with my family.  I love the season, but am not a huge gift buyer. Nor do I expect to get a lot of them.  I take much more pleasure in the small things, like watching the kids open their gifts at my parents’ house. Or our youngest when he sees that Santa left something outside. 

MBA:  If you could be President or the leader of the World, what would you do first? Why?

Lydia/Jodie – Resign? Just kidding. But who would want that position? It’s hard enough working a full-time job, writing, and being a single mother. I can’t imagine having the pressure of President or leader of the world.

 

Lydia/Tammy:  I would make music artists who use harsh curse words in songs pay a fine every time I hear the word b*tch (along with the less innocuous words) bleeped out on my radio.  Seriously, it’s not as though you can’t fill in the blanks.  People in the media have so much power. I’d make them use it wisely.  Particularly when their work is marketed toward my children.

MBA:  Back to The Taming of the Wolf, Dash is a great hero, I adored his book, and even “tamed” he’s still wild. Did you plan for that or did it just happen that way?

Lydia/Jodie  – I’m very character driven and don’t plot at all. So I never “plan” for anything to happen, I just listen to the character and they dictate how the story will progress.

Lydia/Tammy:  Dash needed a heroine who would accept him as he was, not try to tame him. It was only by accepting the beast within himself that he could find any self-acceptance.  So, once Cait convinced him she could take him as he was, he could also accept himself.

MBA:  Is there anything else you’d like our readers to know?

Lydia/Jodie – We had so much fun writing The Taming of the Wolf, and I hope that shows to readers.

Lydia/Tammy:  Thanks so much for having us!  What a great interview!

THE TAMING OF THE WOLF BY LYDIA DARE—IN STORES NOVEMBER 2010

A fresh and imaginative world of noble werewolves, each of whom encounters nearly insurmountable problems in his quest to live a normal life among England’s Regency society.

Dashiel Thorpe has grown up with the sobriquet “The monster of Eynsford.” Each full moon, when he turns into a wild beast, he has been chained to the wall to protect those around him. He has never before encountered a creature like himself, until he goes to visit his university friend and encounters a family of Lycans living just next door.

When the full moon turns the pack of them into wolves, Dashiel’s feral ways bring him to near-disaster, and when he bites Caitrin McLeod he unknowingly sets off a chain of events that could lead to his ultimate destruction.

Banished to Scotland to find a mentor and get trained in how to be a proper werewolf, Dashiel must also find Caitrin and persuade her that she’s his only chance for salvation…

About the Author

Lydia Dare is the writing team of Tammy Falkner and Jodie Pearson. Both Tammy and Jodie are active members of the Heart of Carolina Romance Writers and live near Raleigh, North Carolina. They are working together on their next paranormal historical trilogy as Lydia Dare, which will be released by Sourcebooks Casablanca in 2011! For more information, please visit http://www.lydiadare.com/.

Thanks to the fab Danielle at Sourcebooks I’m thrilled to offer readers a chance to win 1 set of the four books by Lydia Dare, A CERTAIN WOLFISH CHARM, TALL, DARK, AND WOLFISH, THE WOLF NEXT DOOR, and THE TAMING OF THE WOLF. This is ONE set with all four books. The books will be sent from the publisher. Giveaway is open from today November 15th until Sat. November 20th. In order to win you must comment here and tell me something you learned about Lydia Dare from their website or Sourcebooks or ask them a question you’ve been dying to know the answer to. Giveaway is open to US and Canadian residents only. NO PO Boxes please.

Good luck to all and thank you to Lydia and Danielle!!

BTW this is an awesome book!!

 

