Carolyn Brown Guest Blog, Author of The Honky Tonk Series

My Book Addiction and More; October 20, 2010

 

Hello, everyone. I’m delighted to stop by My Book Addiction and More today. My Give A Damn’s Busted and Honky Tonk Christmas, the last two books in the Honky Tonk Series, are on the racks now … just in time for the holidays. Sharlene is planning a big Christmas party at the Honky Tonk and is inviting all the previous owners plus the quirky characters from all four books to the party. Sounds like fun doesn’t it?

 

I’d love to help her decorate the Honky Tonk for the party. Just think how much fun it would be stand under that mistletoe with hot, sexy cowboys all around … just makes your little heart tingle don’t it?

 

But before my brain kicks into high gear and I rush off to the computer to write about that cowboy with the tight fittin’ jeans and the black hat pulled down over his eyes I’ve been asked to talk about some of my favorite things about being an author.

 

Don’t go away, cowboy.

 

Number one: Readers! Sounds like a strange answer doesn’t it? But it’s really the number one favorite thing of all authors. Without readers we’d all be right up there in bold print on the top of the endangered species list. And that’s a dangerous place for an author to find herself! So the first favorite thing is my readers. I love it when they take time to drop a note after they’ve read a book or when they tell their neighbor over the backyard fence about My Give A Damn’s Busted. Or when they ask their librarian or bookstore to order Honky Tonk Christmas so they can give them away for Christmas presents. So to all my readers: you are number one on my list!

 

My cowboy is starting toward the door. Someone go grab his arm and keep him in here until I get finished.

 

Number two: Writing. I love it! From the first line of a book all the way through the rewrites, I love to write. I have an empty nest; three grown kids who are married and out on their own. I have an office in my house where I can hole up for hours or days. And most importantly, a supportive husband, who doesn’t demand I do anything else. Life is good!

 

I swear that is an impatient cowboy. His feet are tapping to the music. I may have to go on over there and do a little two steppin’ before we finish this post. There’s Conway Twitty signing about “Tight Fittin’ Jeans.” Sip on that cold beer. I’ll be right back!

 

Number three: Selling. Let me catch my breath here before I go into a long winded conversation about that part of being an author. That cowboy just about danced the leather right off my boots. Okay, I’m ready now. I don’t care if it’s the first time or the fiftieth time an author gets the call from an editor saying the book has sold and the contract is in the mail! It’s as heady as dancing with a cowboy as sexy as Holt Jackson (Look at the Honky Tonk Christmas cover and imagine him sashaying you around the dance floor).

 

Would someone please go get my cowboy? I think he’d better sit here beside me while I finish this post, but not too close or else I won’t be able to think about anything but the way he fills out those Wranglers.

 

Number four: Clocks. Yes, that’s right. I said clocks. There aren’t any. I don’t punch a time clock or have to set an alarm. I write when I want and time has nothing to do with it. If I’m in the middle of a chapter then I might write until midnight. If the backyard is calling my name, I might leave my story and go sit on the patio and watch the robins for thirty minutes. It’s all done on my time schedule!

 

Cowboy is getting impatient to dance again so I’ll wind this down.

 

Number five: Pajamas. Yep, right again. That’s what I said and it could be my very favorite part of being an author. I can work in my pajamas or in my flannel bottoms with a hole in the bum and an oversized shirt that looks like it survived a paint party at Sherwin-Williams and no one says a thing about me being unprofessional.

 

Like the song says, “these are a few of my favorite things.” Now I’m going to dance with that cowboy again. He’s been patient and the song on the old juke box has been one of our favorites the past forty plus years that we’ve been married. George Jones is singing, “I Always Get Lucky With You.”

 

 

 

Tell me, what’s your favorite part of being a reader? And what’s your favorite country song?

 

 

 

 

 

THE HONKY TONK SERIES BY CAROLYN BROWN

My Give a Damn’s Busted (Book 3)—In Stores Now!

He’s just doing his job…

If Hank Wells thinks he can dig up dirt on the new owner of the Honky Tonk beer joint for his employer, he’s got no idea what kind of trouble he’s courting…

 

She’s not going down without a fight…

If any dime store cowboy think’s he’s going to get the best of Larissa Morley—or her Honky Tonk—then he’s got another think coming…

 

As secrets emerge, and passion vies with ulterior motives, it’s winner takes all at the Honky Tonk…

 

Honky Tonk Christmas (Book 4)In Stores Now!

She Means business…

Sharlene Waverly is determined to have the “new and improved” Honky Tonk up and running before the holiday. For that, she’ll need Holt Jackson, the best darn carpenter in the state. But his warm, whisky-colored eyes make her insides melt, and before she knows it, she’s sharing her darkest secrets and talking about the nightmares…

 

He’s determined to keep things professional…

Holt Jackson needs the job at the Honky Tonk, but is completely unprepared to handle the beautiful new bar owner he’s working for.

 

Sharlene and Holt try like crazy to deny the sparks flying between them, but their love may just be the best Christmas present either one of them ever got.

 

About the Author

Carolyn Brown is an award-winning author who has published 36 historical and western romance novels for the library market, many of them bestsellers in that market. Born in Texas and raised in southern Oklahoma, Carolyn and her husband now make their home in the town of Davis, Oklahoma. For more information please visit http://www.carolynlbrown.com/ 

 

*Thanks to the wonderful Danielle at Sourcebooks.com I’m thrilled to offer readers a chance to win 1 of 2 copies of the full set of Carolyn Brown’s HONKY TONK SERIES. So 2 winners will get 4 books from the publisher! If you’d like to win you must comment here and answer Carolyn’s question. If you’d like more info on Carolyn or to buy these great books please visit Sourcebooks.com . Giveaway will run from today, Oct 20th until Oct. 25th. 2010. Giveaway is open to US and Canadian Residents only.

Good luck.

Thank you to Carolyn for being our guest today!

 

 

