Rafe had never met a truly irresistible woman, until he met Liberty.

Libby has the kind of beauty that comes on slow—strikes a guy the longer he looks. And Rafe sure is having a fine time looking, and touching, and loving Liberty Starr.

The only problem is that Rafe is pretending to be just another cowboy down on his luck. Working for the FBI, he’s come to Stone Hill, Colorado, to investigate the man Libby loves like a father.

He was just another cowboy.

Free-spirited Libby offers him a job and a place to stay. Together they spark like wildfire, their intense passion filling their days and nights. But Rafe is only in town for the summer, and while Liberty is willing to risk her heart, secrets threaten any possibility of a future together…

Hi Everyone,

What’s in a name? Grant is my nom de plume. I took it because I love my last name, but almost no one can say it (even though it’s not difficult), only a handful can spell it, and no one ever remembers it. None of which bodes very well for an author!

Then one day I met someone who understood my name intimately…

I was at the airport standing in one of those interminable security lines with my license and ticket in one hand, my carry-on luggage in the other, mentally rehearsing… okay, first I have to get past the ticket-and-license checker guy. Then I have to do the one-handed strip-and-unload routine … shoes come off, jacket comes off, belt comes off, watch comes off, and by now I’m hoping to God I remembered not to wear an underwire. Then it’s all about freeing my laptop from its zippered prison (still, one-handed), and pulling out my clear plastic bag full of 3-oz.-or-less items—without being trampled by the *enthusiastic* travelers behind me.

Right?

Aren’t these the acrobatics we go through while holding onto our license and boarding ticket?

The reason I do a mental rehearsal like this is because a) it passes the time, and b) I don’t like to hold people up behind me.

So, I was deep into my ‘process’ when I reached the ticket-and-license checker guy. He looked at my license a long time, and then my ticket, and then my license again. I could feel the guy behind me blowing his hot breath down my neck (thank you impatient guy with hot breath).

Finally, the ticket-and-license checker guy said in a heavy German accent, “You have a German last name.”

I bobbed my head and smiled inanely. (I’m a pleaser when it comes to airport authority types.)

“It’s a very good last name. Very old.”

More head bobbing.

“Not so many have that name anymore.”

Still smiling.

“Were you born with that name or did you acquire it?”

For most people, this would have been a one-word answer. But oh, no… not me. “Actually, a little of both.”

Suddenly, he looked concerned. Like I might have just confessed to illegal activity.

“How do you mean this ‘a little of both’?”

“It was my mother’s maiden name. I took it when she was dying because she was the last of the line.”

He grinned at me as if I’d given him a most brilliant answer. “A very good name, your family name. You may go now. No, wait!”

<sigh> So close!

The hot breath impatient guy slammed into me. The ticket-and-license checker guy glared at him, and then swung his attention back to me.

“Do you know what your family name means?”

I was afraid I was going to disappoint him. “Not entirely. Something about a field?”

He smiled broadly. “Very good. In your language it would be Deerfield. So, now you know.”

As I was walking away he called after me, “I should know. I married a Deerfield. She looks a little like you.”

This is the only time (outside my family) that anyone has ever shown an interest in or knowledge of my last name.

I might have chosen ‘Deerfield’ instead of ‘Grant’ for my nom de plume if I’d known the translation, prior to the debut of my contemporary cowboy romance, LIBERTY STARR. And, I might not have chosen ‘Grant’ if I’d realized that an erotic British celeb by the same name (Rebecca Grant) had the Internet domain; which is why I go by Rebecca E. Grant, and sometimes ‘not-the-erotic-British-celeb-Rebecca Grant’… J

As part of my research for my next novel, I’d love to hear your answers to the following questions:

  • How important is your family name to you?
  • What do you think about the use of a pseudonym for authors (not for the hot guy you just met)
  • Finally, who would you rather read about as a hero, and why:
  1. a cowboy,
  2. a celebrity
  3. a lumberjack?

 

Thanks for your comments. You can find me at any of the following:

http://www.rebeccaegrant.com/

http://blog.rebeccaegrant.com/

Twitter: @RebeccaEGrant

Facebook

 

And, if you pick up a copy of LIBERTY STARR, I hope you’ll let me know what you thought of it. Email me at: Rebecca@RebeccaEGrant.com

Rebecca E. Grant

Love is Unstoppable!

LIBERTY STARR I Contemporary Cowboy Romance

Carina Press¾June 14, 2010

www.RebeccaEGrant.com

http://blog.RebeccaEGrant.com

