Terry Spear Interview, Author of Seduced by the Wolf

My Book Addiction and More; August 20, 2010

 My Book Addiction: What kind of planning and research goes into your writing of a novel?

Terry Spear: Planning? The very thought gives me chills. I can feel writer’s block coming on. I see a blank monitor screen before me. And nothing will appear on the page unless I let my imagination run free and visualize the scenes as they come to me. Picture me on a psychiatrist’s couch as the doctor probes into my past: “You see,” I say, “when I was a kid, I never could write an outline for a research paper, without having to write it over again, once I wrote my paper. Now, the teachers didn’t like that I didn’t follow my outline to the tea, but I truly can’t write like that. So I’m afraid this obsession with letting my imagination run amok started when I was young.”

 

As to research, I research as I plod along. I wanted a description about a cemetery for one scene but when I looked one up, I found there were none in the local area, so I changed my mind about the setting and started anew with a hiking trail instead. I learned that the zoo had changed and I used Google earth to picture the trees and fences and nearby exhibits. I discovered that it’s still cold in spring in an area, and revised the characters’ responses to the cool weather that I had envisioned was warmer. I learn more wolf details and enjoy incorporating them into the stories. So basically, I write the scene—action, dialogue, then go back in to add more setting details, more feelings, more actions and reactions. No plan to it, yet as I revise and deepen the characterizations and the plot and the settings, it appears I did have some kind of method to my madness. 🙂

 MBA: What are some of your upcoming projects?

TS: Wolf Fever will be released in December all about a virus that hits the pack and a growing love story as the hero and heroine try to find a solution and my first Highland werewolf story, Heart of the Highland Wolf, about a Highland pack who has lost a lot of their money to an unscrupulous pyramid schemer and agree, reluctantly, to allow the filming of a movie within the walls of the MacNeill castle. But a werewolf romance writer not only arrives on the scene to write her own werewolf version of the story, but has every intention of finding her family’s secret hidden in the walls—falling for the pack leader is not in the plans though. The Highland story will be out June 2011. Then Dreaming of the Wolf will follow that in the fall, where Jake Silver, brother to Devlyn in Destiny of the Wolf intends only to sell some of his wildflower photography to an art gallery when he has to rescue a damsel in distress and the chemistry between them starts something he can’t stop. But I’ve also got a nonfiction romance article coming out in February in a book that includes some of my favorite authors such as Heather Graham, Amelia Grey, and Linda Lael Miller.

 

MBA: What is something that people wouldn’t know about you as an author/writer or a person in general?  

TS: I think I’m an open book! But maybe I haven’t talked about this. If I were a scientist, I would love to discover a way to turn the deserts green—to provide water in regions that lack it, to institute alternate forms of energy all across the world, such as wind power and solar power. I’d use both if it wasn’t so costly to have to install that on my house and I could afford it.  But it would be great to be able to promote a cost effective way for everyone to tap into natural energy sources without polluting and using up the earth’s resources.

 

MBA: Do you feel a deep connection to your characters and why?

TS: Oh, absolutely. I struggle through the conflict they struggle with. I can feel myself in their fight scenes, in their sexier scenes, through all the turmoil. The more I feel the scenes, the more the characters have been brought to life.

 

MBA: How do you handle the negative reviews if you receive any?

TS: I have to remember that not everyone will like everything I write, just like I don’t like everything I read. Reading is subjective. I try to thank reviewers for their reviews if I hear about them, even if it’s just to thank them for taking the time to read the book and write a review. But of course I love the great reviews, which encourage me to continue writing new tales.

 MBA: What authors do you like to read?

TS: I love Jayne Castle, Jane Anne Krentz and Amanda Quick. All the same author. And I’ve recently been reading Linda Howard’s books. But I also love Monings and tons of others. Really, too many to mention.

 

 MBA: Will your next project be about werewolves/shifters or a different type of book?

TS: My next two contracted books, after those I mention in question 2, are about werewolves—The Wolf and the SEAL and The Highland Wolf in Paradise. Although I’m also working on a nonfiction project for my editor…

 

MBA: Why do you write the books you write?

TS: I love fantasy, but I also love nonfiction. Combining the two into a fantasy world that seems real is half the fun. Werewolves, and wolves for that matter, get all the blame for bad stuff happening. I love being able to show that not all werewolves, or wolves, are the bad guys. They (the werewolves) can be sexy and loveable, protective and loyal. They’re not beasts, unless they’re bad to the core, but no more so than some humans are. So I try to set the story straight. Some werewolves are actually pretty handy to have around, and did I mention downright sexy?

 

Thanks so much for having me at My Addition and More!

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed the interview and take a chance on a werewolf or two. Someone on Facebook mentioned that he was afraid of werewolves. Now, to that I say that some werewolves are bad news. Just like some people are. But some, if you get to know them, might just be what you’re looking for—excellent senses, hunter instinct, definitely sexy. Never know, you might just decide you’re ready for a whole pack of them!

 

 

SEDUCED BY THE WOLF BY TERRY SPEAR – IN STORES AUGUST 2010

His first priority is to protect his pack…

Werewolf pack leader Leidolf Wildhaven has just taken over a demoralized pack. With rogue wolves on the loose causing havoc and the authorities from the zoo suddenly zeroing in on the local wolf population, the last thing he needs in his territory is a do-gooder female, no matter how beautiful and enticing she is…

She’ll do anything to help wolves…

Biologist Cassie Roux has dedicated her life to protecting wolves in the wild. On a desperate mission to help a she-wolf with newborn pups, the last thing Cassie needs right now is a nosy and entirely too attractive werewolf pack leader trying to track her down…

With rogue wolves and hunters threatening at every turn, Cassie and Leidolf may find their attraction the most dangerous force of all…

About the Author

A retired lieutenant colonel in the U.S. Army Reserves, Terry Spear has an MBA from Monmouth University. An eclectic writer, she dabbles in the paranormal as well as writing historical and true life stories for both teen and adult audiences. Spear lives in Crawford, Texas. For more information, please visit Terry at these various places on the web:

www.terryspear.com

http://www.wickedlyromantic.blogspot.com/

http://casablancaauthors.blogspot.com/

http://fierceromance.blogspot.com/

http://www.facebook.com/terry.spear

http://shapeshifterromance.wordpress.com/

http://terry-spear.blogspot.com/ 

 Thanks to the awesome Danielle at Sourcebooks I’m thrilled to offer readers a chance to win 1 of 2 copies of SEDUCED BY THE WOLF! This giveaway is open to US and Canadian residents only. No PO Boxes please. Giveaway is for today August 20th only. In order to win you must comment on this post and you must comment on something Terry has said or on her books, in other words you have to do more than say “enter me” Or “great post”. Good Luck to all!

