Mary Wine Guest Blog, Author of To Conquer a Highlander

My Book Addiction and More; June 30, 2010

 

What I Do When I’m not Writing…

I think I should laugh hysterically here…many a friend and family member has informed me that I do too much. To begin with, I’m a historical re-enactor. This means that the best dresses I own are hundreds of years out of fashion and I like it that way. I have spent an entire week living in the 1400, wearing the clothing, cooking and having to make do without all the little convinces that we have today. I find the experience very helpful when I’m writing a book such as To Conquer a Highlander. I do sew the outfits and that entails making my own patterns. My sewing machine sits faithfully beside my writing desk and I always take a few days off between books to sew something. It seems to recharge my imagination. Beyond that, I know what a sword feels like in my grip and I mean a real, forged one. We have several and I’ve become personally aquatinted with polishing the things. Ladies, when you marry a knight in his shinning armor…you also get to keep it shining! I honestly don’t mind. My friends and I are constantly on the hunt for exciting pieces of fabric to transform into our next chemise or corset. We get excited over button finds and plan expeditions into the garment district to hunt down velvets and brocades.

I am also a second degree black belt in Tae kwon do. My sons are both involved in the sport and I decided to give it a go, maybe see what I could learn and that was ten years ago. This is another case of my hobby giving me useful information because I’ve been fortunate to learn fighting technique in bow staff and hand to hand. Having a grasp on just how martial arts works and feels really gives me insight when I’m writing action scenes. Drop by my website for pictures and excerpts of To Conquer a Highlander.

Mary Wine

MaryWine.com

TO CONQUER A HIGHLANDER BY MARY WINE—IN STORES JULY 2010

A fierce Highland laird ready to kill for king and country…
When Torin McLeren discovers his neighbor’s plot against his king, he takes their daughter as his prisoner, thereby stopping her father’s plot from going forward. But that leaves him with a woman under his roof whom he can’t ignore, and not just because she’s his enemy’s daughter… 

A woman who’s as much trouble as she is temptation…

Shannon McBoyd decides to use her captor to experience passion for the first time, and then to destroy him. But her plan goes awry because once she has lured Torin into her bed, she no longer wants to hurt the one man who seems to value and understand her…
Even if her father will kill him—and her—when he discovers what they’ve done…

About the Author

Acclaimed author Mary Wine has written nearly twenty works of erotic fantasy, romantic suspense, and historical romance.  An avid history-buff and historical costumer, she and her family enjoy participating in historical reenactments.  Mary lives with her husband and two sons in Yorba Linda, California. For more information, please visit http://www.marywine.com/

*Thanks to the wonderful Danielle at SourceBooks I’m thrilled to offer readers a chance to win 1 of 2 copies of TO CONQUER A HIGHLANDER. Giveaway is open to US and Canadian residents only. No P.O. Boxes please. If you’d like to win one of the two copies please post a comment here. Good Luck to everyone!*

