, , ,


Mary E. Demuth

May 2010

Publisher: Zondervan

Series: Defiance Texas Trilogy Series

ISBN-13: 9780310278382

ISBN: 0310278384

Source: Book was recieved for the purpose of a review

From the Publisher

In a town she personifies, Ouisie Pepper wrestles with her own defiance. Desperate to become the wife and mother her husband Hap demands, Ouisie pours over a simple book about womanhood, constantly falling short, but determined to improve.Through all that self-improvement, Ouisie carries a terrible secret: she knows who killed Daisy Chance. As her children inch closer to uncovering the killer’s identity and Hap’s rages roar louder and become increasingly violent, Ouisie has to make a decision. Will she protect her children by telling her secret? Or will Hap’s violence silence them all?Set on the backdrop of Defiance, Texas, Ouisie’s journey typifies the choices we all face—whether to tell the truth about secrets and fight for the truth or bury them forever and live with the violent consequences. 

My Thoughts:


LIFE IN DEFIANCE by Mary E. Demuth is a murder mystery christian fiction set in Defiance, Texas in the 1977’s. It is the third in the Defiance Texas Trilogy series, but can easily be read as a stand alone. It is well written with depth and detail. It is very compelling with issues of abuse, it weaves mystery and intrigue with life’s issues and challenges. It has redemption and justice for some with while others remain blind to injustice. It is a sad gut wretching story. If you have not read the other two in the series I would suggest reading them also.(Book #1 Daisy Chain and Book #2 Slow Burn). This book was received for review and details can be found at  Zondervan.

Reviewed by April Renn

Rating: 4.5