RAVISHED BY A HIGHLANDER

Paula Quinn

May 2010 

 

 

Thanks so much for inviting me to blog about my newest release, Ravished by a Highlander in stores May 2010.

Why Highlanders?

I’ve always had an affinity for Scotland. I think many people do. It conjures up images of rough, brutally beautiful landscape scarred with blood and the pride of warriors.  And let’s face it, if you’re into warriors like I am, no place bred them better than the Highlands.  They withstood the Romans, the Vikings, the Anglos, the Saxons, and the English…well, almost the English. Still, I didn’t choose to write about them. They kind of chose me, or more specifically, Callum MacGregor, the hero in my first Scottish romance, Laird of the Mist, did. I was perfectly happy writing about English heroes in the Conqueror era, but Callum invaded my thoughts until I picked up my pen. (And I’m so glad I listened) I knew a little about Scotland but nothing about the MacGregors.  Researching them proved to be quite eye-opening as well as heartbreaking.  Denied all basic human rights, they became an outlawed clan during the MacGregor proscription…and everything I’d ever imagined Highlanders to be; proud, rebellious, mighty and unyielding, much like the land in which they lived.  There is a paragraph in Laird of the Mist which I think captures exactly why I love writing about Scotland and Highland heroes.

The Highlands, and the people who inhabited them, belonged to each other. Never was it clearer to Kate. She doubted one could survive without the other, and wondered at the same time if it was this untamed land that compelled its people to fight against attempts to subdue them, or the peoples’ untamed will and stubborn resiliency that made the land so wildly breathtaking.

Heroes with so much in common with the rugged land beneath their boots are just more interesting in my opinion. 🙂 In my May release, Ravished By A Highlander, Rob MacGregor, firstborn son of Callum and Kate, lacks no passion when it comes to what’s his. Whether it’s his land, his kin, or a delicate, sorrow-filled lass he has plucked from the burning ashes of an abbey. He’s as big and as unrelenting as the mountains around him. He’s a warrior who is confident in the skill of his arm, but not rash in drawing his sword. (And it’s a big sword, btw) His thick burr sets music to the air, and  his kisses are hot enough to warm a lass on the coldest Highland night.  Oh yes, and he has long, muscular legs that a lady can admire, thanks to his plaid. Why would I want to write about any other kind of hero, but a Highlander?

How do I get the image for my characters?

Again, my characters find me. When they do, they are usually faceless, shadowy figures that don’t truly come to life until I attach a face. And it has to be the right face or the character will sulk. I can look at a thousand different images, see hundreds of different faces on the street and my muse will simply yawn and roll her eyes.  On the other hand,  I can flick my gaze over a single picture and recognize a character immediately. Whatever image I do use, say Gerard Butler for instance, it’s only a reference to the hero or heroine’s features.  Characters always take on a life of their own and become their own person.

What a typical day in the of “Paula” is like?

Boring, really. I wake up, make coffee, check email. If I have no appointments during the day, say, taking Mom to the doctor, (she’s cute and elderly and lives across the street) I will write for a few hours, or stare at the blinking cursor, depending on my muse. Feed and walk the dogs, greet husband home from work, cook dinner, check email and facebook again and maybe play a facebook game, and then go to Mom’s to watch TV with her until 10pm. After that, I come home, walk dogs again and get to more serious writing. Hopefully.

What authors do for fun?

We shop! I have two teenage daughters and we love to shop! Ask me how many pocketbooks I own. Go ahead, ask me? Let’s just say between me and my daughters we filled up a closet with bags. Oh, and scarves. I love scarves!

What makes an author a reader or a reader an author? What is the difference?

We all begin as readers and as an author with deadlines, I really don’t get much time to read anymore. Very sad, because I miss it. I miss reading someone else’s tales, something I don’t already know the ending to.  Before I was published I read at least a book a week and I think what makes a reader an author is the desire to tell your own story. There are tellers and there are listeners, both equally important, for without one, the other can’t exist.  I don’t think there is much of a difference between the two. We are imaginative with a desire to live in a different world, a different place for just a little while.

