Today it’s my great pleasure to welcome author Dee Davis. Dee is the author the April DARK DECEPTIONS….a review for this book was posted earlier today….as well as a giveaway posted after this post went up. So please join me in welcoming Dee to MBA.

 

When I was young we listened to records from Danny Kaye and Disney.  And then when I was eight I got a transistor radio and went to sleep every night listening to Diana Ross, Sonny and Cher or Steppenwolf blaring in my ear.  In my teenage years I had a Realistic tape recorder that I used to play my cassette tapes (Carpenters, Led Zeppelin and the Partridge Family).  Shortly after that, my brother was jamming out with the eight track in his car to the sounds of Kansas and Styx. 

Then, when I graduated from college, I bought my first stereo system with both cassette recorder and turntable.  (About that time I also bought the very first Nintendo – Duck Hunt anyone?)  After that I got married, and we stored our respective cassette and record collections (in full disclosure the Partridge Family was banned) and started collecting CDs from artists like Lyle Lovett, Indigo Girls, and 10,000 Maniacs.  Today—my family listen to our music on our iPods (Incubus, Antigone Rising and 3 Doors Down).  All of these represent technologies that changed the way we collect and listen to our music. 

But hey, this is a book blog, so what the heck am I going off on music for?   Well, the changes I described above happened over a period of almost fifty years.  The book industry has come into the digital age a bit more quickly.  When my first book, Everything in its Time, was published ten years ago, e-books were just a blip on the screen.  A new technology that excited some and terrified others.  And over those ten years the debate has raged.  With technology, as always, slowly but surely making headway.  Then Amazon debuted the Kindle and everything changed in what seemed to be an instant.  Authors who’d dismissed or bashed e-books were suddenly clamoring to make certain that their books were available as e-books.  I read just today that John Grisham has finally decided to allow his books to be converted to digital format.

And to add to the scramble, enter the internet, which mainly consisted of lists and websites when I first began writing, but more recently has exploded with blogging and social networking.  Yet another instance where technology has changed the way we do business.  Authors today are expected to maintain fluid websites, keep up to date profiles on Facebook and MySpace, blog about anything and everything book-related and otherwise, not to mention twitter daily – in 140 characters or less – about all of the same.  Book signings have been replaced with blog tours and pre-signed book plates.  Time online is growing and time with face to face connection shrinking.  More books are available to more people for a longer period of time, while at the same time books are joining movies and music as the most current victim of internet piracy. 

It’s a brave new world.  And I’m so glad to be a part of it.  New technology can be scary.  And it always comes with fits and starts.  Some of it—like eight tracks and cassettes—are lost in time.  Others, like records are revered as an essential part of our history.  But the advances generally are better than their predecessors.  And as I present to the world my sixteenth book, Dark Deceptions, the first in my new A-Tac series, I’m delighted to know that it’s available in a variety of formats.  And that people can choose whether to read Annie and Nash’s story in paperback, on the Kindle or Nook, in large print or in small.  After all, at the end of the day, all I really want is for you to read the book!

What about you?  Can’t live without your Kindle, your iPod, your Blackberry, your netbook?  And what are some of your favorite memories of older technology?  Come on… spill.

Author Bio:

Dee Davis has a BA in Political Science and History, and a Masters Degree in Public Administration. During a ten-year career in public relations, she spent three years on the public speaking circuit, edited two newsletters, wrote three award winning public service announcements, did television and radio commercials, starred in the Seven Year Itch, taught college classes, lobbied both the Texas State Legislature and the US Congress, and served as the director of two associations.

Her highly acclaimed first novel, Everything In Its Time, was published in July 2000. Since then, among others, she’s won the Booksellers Best, Golden Leaf, Texas Gold and Prism awards, and been nominated for the National Readers Choice Award, the Holt and two RT Reviewers Choice Awards. To date, she has sold eighteen books and three novellas, including Chain Reaction and A Match Made on Madison.

She’s lived in Austria and traveled in Europe extensively. And although she now lives in Manhattan she still calls Texas home.

*Be sure to check out the giveaway post for more details but 5 copies of DARK DECEPTIONS will be given away*

