Ann Shorey

March 2010

Baker Publishing Group

Series: At Home in Beldon Grove Series

ISBN-13: 9780800733339

ISBN: 0800733339

Source: this book was recieved from the publisher for the purpose of a review


Life in Beldon Grove on the Illinois frontier in the 1840s isn’t easy. For Ellie Craig, the graves of her three infant children make it unbearably lonely, despite the love of her husband Matthew. When she uncovers a family secret that suggests she may not be as alone as she thought, Ellie is determined to find the truth.

Meanwhile, Matthew Craig faces controversy in the church he pastors when a man arrives in town claiming to be both a minister and the son of the town’s founder. Will Matthew find the courage to reclaim his church? Or will he return to itinerant preaching, leaving Ellie even more alone than before?

Book 2 in the At Home in Beldon Grove series, The Promise of Morning will touch your soul with themes of overcoming tragedy, finding strength to meet daunting challenges, and trusting your heart to love again.


THE PROMISE OF MORNING BY Ann Shorey is an Inspirational historical set in the 1840’s frontier.  It is the second in the At Home In Beldon Grove but can be read as a stand alone. It is very emotional with loss, regrets and tragedy. It is well written with depth and detail. The characters are emotional, strong in faith with trials and struggles.
The secondary characters are also strong and carry the story along. You will be drawn into their struggles and joys. I would highly recommend this story. If you have not read the first in the series(The Edge of Night) I would recommend you pick one up. You will not regret reading this series or this author’s work.
Reviewed by April Renn
Rating:  4.5

“Available March 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”