Today I am deeply honored to welcome Jambrea Jones and Emily to my blog. Please set back and enjoy!

 

Colonel Joe “Magnus” River’s sole purpose in life is to protect the United States of America. It isn’t just a job; it’s his reason for being. Magnus’ life is turned upside down when he is informed a woman will be joining his team of elite marines. She made it through boot camp, but can she make it through Magnus?

Nothing in NCIS Special Agent Emily Patterson’s career could have prepared her for Colonel Rivers. Her orders: infiltrate the Colonel’s team and find out who has been kidnapping women and children from third world countries and selling them as sex slaves. A string of unexpected events changes everything, potentially exposing Emily before she finds the guilty party. Her mission becomes more difficult as she gets to know the man behind the uniform. Magnus can’t be involved, can he? 

Jambrea:  Hey Emily. I’ve noticed Magnus out and about on the web lately so I thought it might be nice for the two of us to have a chat about your upcoming book.

Emily:  I’ve noticed that too. I’d love to chat. It’s nice to talk to another woman, someone who knows who I really am.

Jambrea:  It must be hard being undercover, not knowing who to trust.

Emily:  You have no idea. I want to trust the marine unit I’ve infiltrated, but someone is guilty.

Jambrea:  Do you have any ideas?

Emily:  As of right now? No. I know who I don’t want to be guilty, but I don’t see things happening in the unit without his knowledge.

Jambrea:  And who might that be? *Jambrea tries to hide her grin*

Emily:  Joe ‘Magnus’ Rivers. That man makes it hard for me to do my job. He makes me want to give him 110% and I can’t. Not until the mission is over and I’ve cleared his name.  I think he might be suspicious of my actions. Sometimes I can’t help myself when training.

Jambrea:  How so?

Emily:  Joe has this way about him that you want to do your best, but I can’t. I have to get noticed by the individuals responsible for the sex ring. The more I get to know Joe, the more I question his involvement. He would do anything for those men. Even me and I’ve done nothing but fuck up from the moment I stepped foot on base. You see my dilemma. Not to mention the fact that I’m very attracted to the man. Who wouldn’t be? He is so hot.

Jambrea:  I won’t argue with you there. Can you tell us anything about your mission?

Emily:  Not too much. I am undercover. I will tell you that I’m hunting down a person who has been kidnapping women and children from third world countries and selling them as sex slaves.

Jambrea:  And you think Magnus is behind it?

Emily:  I hope not, but, with the kind of man he is, I don’t see him not knowing what was going on with his men. I’m so confused.

Jambrea:  Hopefully you’ll be able to clear him.

Emily:  Speaking of him, I need to get back before I’m missed. I hope to talk to you soon.

Jambrea:  Thanks for talking to me! I’ll see you soon.

And as a special treat here is a great excerpt from MAGNUS:

Excerpt:
(Unedited)

“All clear, Alpha.”

“Back to base, double-time.”

The soldiers made it to the camp without incident.

“Sir…sir!” Patterson called.

He stopped and she ran right into him

Ten feet and I could have been in my office. Goddamn it.

He didn’t turn around. “What seems to be the problem, Patterson?”

“I need to talk to you, sir.”

“Then talk.”

“Um…could we go into your office?”

He nodded, continued to his office and didn’t stop until he sat behind his desk and she stood at attention in front of it.

“At ease, Lieutenant. Talk.”

She stood at parade rest, but didn’t look relaxed.

“I thought we were on a real mission today, sir.”

“Are you questioning me, Lieutenant Patterson?”

“No, sir.”

“Let me ask you a question, princess.”

She started to say something, but he could tell she thought better of it when she pinched her lips together and stood straighter. He had to fight his grin.

“Sir?”

“Why are you here? Why the Marines?”

“Permission to speak freely?”

He waved her on.

“Because Daddy said I couldn’t do it,” she said with malice in her voice. “I’m here to prove him and everyone else wrong. I can do this.”

“Daddy trying to make it easy for you? Paving the way to a combat troop?” he taunted, knowing full well she’d paid her dues.

“I did my time on Parris Island. I deserve to be here”

“I’ve been over your records, Patterson. The General showed them to me before he put you on my team. I know you’re a solid Marine, but you shouldn’t be here. My team is on the front line. You’re a distraction we don’t need.”

He looked to see if she would respond, but she said nothing.

Mag continued, “What happens when you miss the target and go down? My men would be worried about protecting you, not fighting the enemy. I can’t have that. Our lives depend on trusting each other in a fight. Just last month you shot Stewart in a mock exercise. Today your ass wiggled so far in the air I’m surprised the patrol didn’t spot it. You aren’t ready.”

Patterson stepped forward and put her hands on his desk, placing her face-to-face with him. He cocked a brow at her and wondered if she realized she’d broken protocol.

She leaned in and spoke in a low, soft voice. “I’m ready, Sir. Put me on the line. I’ll do my job.”

His body reacted in an unexpected way. His cock rose to attention.

Goddamn it! Down, boy, nothin’ to see here.

Mag brought his face so close to hers they were almost nose-to-nose. He spoke just as softly. “You are not ready. You will never be ready. Go home now before you fucking kill someone or end up dead.”

He watched her shiver a little and his cock throbbed in answer. It took all his military control not to kiss her. When her tongue eased out of her mouth to lick her lips he thought he would lose his military bearing and he almost groaned, but caught himself.

No fucking way is this happening.

She never dropped her gaze and he respected her just a little more for that. Most men couldn’t hold his glare. She wasn’t afraid of him, he realized when she didn’t back down.

Well Fuck.

“What was that, sir?”

He must have spoken aloud. He needed to get her off kilter. Mag leaned in closer so their noses touched, his lips pressed almost on hers. Her breath mingled with his.

“Get the fuck out of my office. You’re dismissed. If you know what’s good for you, you’ll go home.”

Then she did the unthinkable. Patterson’s tongue touched his mouth as she moistened her dry lips. He couldn’t help it. He tried, but before he could think, his tongue met hers for a brief second before they both pulled away. Patterson stood at attention, saluted him, spun around and raced out of his office as if the devil himself followed on her heels.

“Shit. Fuck. Goddamn it!” He slammed his hand on his desk. “No way is this happening. No fucking way!”

If you’d like more information about this great story or Jambrea please visit her website.  Thank you Jambrea and Emily for visiting with me today.

From Freya’s Bower: OTOG Anthology & Runaway Man
From eXtasy: Heart Song ; Unseen Path
From Total-e-Bound: Over the Moon
Semper Fi: Magnus – available from Liquid Silver November 23rd
Unwinding Path – available from eXtasy December 15th

