Today I’m so very honored to Welcome author Elizabeth Hoyt as my guest.

ToDesireadevil

TO DESIRE A DEVIL

Elizabeth Hoyt

November 2009

ISBN: 9780446406949
Legend of the Four Soldiers Series, Book Four

NOTHING IS MORE INTOXICATING-
Reynaud St. Aubyn has spent the last seven years in hellish captivity. Now half mad with fever he bursts into his ancestral home and demands his due. Can this wild-looking man truly be the last earl’s heir, thought murdered by Indians years ago?

OR DANGEROUS-
Beatrice Corning, the niece of the present earl, is a proper English miss. But she has a secret: No real man has ever excited her more than the handsome youth in the portrait in her uncle’s home. Suddenly, that very man is here, in the flesh-and luring her into his bed.

THAN SURRENDERING TO A DEVIL.
Only Beatrice can see past Reynaud’s savagery to the noble man inside. For his part, Reynaud is drawn to this lovely lady, even as he is suspicious of her loyalty to her uncle. But can Beatrice’s love tame a man who will stop at nothing to regain his title-even if it means sacrificing her innocence?

ToDesireaDevilButton[1]

My Book Addiction---welcome
WendyK:  Thank you for being a guest at My Book Addiction and More. For readers who are new to you will you please tell readers who you are, where you are from, etc….(married, kids,)

Elizabeth Hoyt: Thank you for inviting me to your blog, Wendy!

I’m Elizabeth Hoyt. I write historical romance and contemporary romance (under the name Julia Harper.) I live in central Illinois with three untrained dogs, two lovely children, and one long-suffering husband.

WK: Let’s start with your newest release, TO DESIRE A DEVIL, in your own words can you tell us about it, who are theToDesireadevil characters, what is their conflict or what must they face?

EH: To Desire a Devil is the fourth and final book in my Legend of the Four Soldiers series. It’s the story of Reynaud St. Aubyn, Viscount Hope. Presumed dead for seven years, he escapes captivity and returns home, ready to resume his life. But the life he left isn’t there anymore. His father, the Earl of Blanchard is dead, another man has claimed the title, and there are rumors that he’s insane. Everyone seems to be against him except the new earl’s niece, a woman named Beatrice Corning. Beatrice for her part is dangerously attracted to Reynaud, but can she make him see that what they have may be more important than the life he’s trying to regain?

WK:  Where did you get the idea for this story?

temptationEH: I started the Legend of the Four Soldiers series at about the time that the war in Iraq began. I was thinking about the soldiers who would be returning home, the troubles they might deal with in coming back to a civilian society. I wondered how it would have been for soldiers coming home over two hundred years ago when psychiatry let alone a diagnosis of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) didn’t exist. I wanted to tell the story of men coming home from war and having to adjust to a society that might not recognize or sympathize with their issues.

WK:  This story has a plotline that I don’t want to get into for fear of it being a spoiler, but I’d like to know if you had to do a lot of research for it and what made you use this point in the story?

EH: I did quite a lot of research into American Indians during this time period and some on PTSD. For Reynaud I wanted to write a story about the soldier who gets left behind, the soldier who has been a prisoner of war, and how they feel when they return home.

WK:  How do you pick the names for your characters for this story as well as others?sinner

EH: It’s pretty organic. 😉 I try to pick names that are historically appropriate, so I might look up real people during this time and check out all their relatives to see what names were being uses. Of course a lot of names are used over and over again. If I were very true to the time period, most of my heroes would be named George, Edward, Samuel, and William! 😉

WK:  Is this story related to any others? If so how, and must we read them in order?

beguileEH: This is the final book in a four-book series: To Taste Temptation, To Seduce a Sinner, To Beguile a Beast, and To Desire a Devil. I try to write my books so anyone can pick them up and enjoy them without having read the others, but I do think a reader gets more out of the story if they’ve read the others—certainly there was a bit of a build up to Reynaud appearing again!

 

WK:  How has your life change since becoming published?

EH: My day-to-day life hasn’t changed much—no one stops me in the street and exclaims, “Aren’t you Elizabeth Hoyt?!” But I think there’s a certain self-confidence in being published and in doing well in your chosen profession. Also, I can now afford braces for my children’s teeth! 😉

WK: What has been your biggest challenge in your writing career?

EH: Believing in myself. A writer has to have a core of iron when they first start out. They spend years writing merely on the hope that they will be good enough and lucky enough to be published. Once published the writer has to continue to believe that she can write—that her work is good and that she’ll finish the book she’s now contracted for. That may seem easy, but I know of many writers who stopped writing or who self-destructed. The wonder is that so many writers do make a living at this.

WK:  How do you choose the settings for your stories?

EH: Well, English historicals are about the only game in town these days, so that’s pretty much a given. But I chose city or country, winter or summer, poor area or wealthy based on what my characters are doing and where they live. I think, for instance, that if someone likes living in the countryside that’s a definite part of their character and the story should reflect that.

WK: How do you go about researching for your stories, are there any sources that you use for everything?

EH: Hmm. I suppose Wikipedia is a default source for looking things up. But I like to have an eclectic mix of research materials. For instance, I always have a book by my bedside table that I’m reading for background research (The Diary of Samuel Pepys right now.) Then I have various books on the English countryside, historical homes, furniture, kings and queens of Britain, etc. I like to visit museums and study portraits from the era (Pan, Lottie’s dog in To Desire a Devil is based on several small, white, fluffy dogs I saw in portraits of ladies at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.) And I just received some wonderful books on dress patterns and embroidery of the eighteenth century.

WK: What is your favorite reading material for pleasure?

EH: I read mostly romance and mystery.

WK:  Can you tell us about your current work in progress and what’s next to hit the shelves?

EH: Right now I’m working on Wicked Intentions, the first of a new series called the Maiden Lane series. Wicked Intentions is set in Georgian London during the time when gin was very cheap and sold everywhere, creating a terrible addiction problem for the poor of London. The hero, Lazarus Huntington, Lord Caire, is a rake searching in the East End for the man who murdered his mistress. But he needs the help of Temperance Dews, a widow running a foundling home in St. Giles. Temperance agrees to help Lazarus if in exchange he’ll take her to society balls so she can find a patron for her home. But both Lazarus and Temperance are hiding secrets. Wicked Intentions will be out in Summer of 2010.

WK:  What one thing at the check-out counter do you look at but hope no one notices you are looking?

EH: I guess I don’t worry about what people think about what I’m looking at. 😉

WK: What is your favorite Holiday recipe? Can you share it with us?

EH: Pecans in Dates: Take whole dates and whole pecan halves. Stick the pecan halves in the dates. Roll in powdered sugar. Ta da! This is a great activity for preschoolers who want to “help” with holiday preparations.

WK:  If you could meet one person, real or fictional, who would it be and why?

EH: Ooo! Shakespeare. Trite, but true, I love Shakespeare!

WK:  How do you handle rejections and the negative people who try to bring your joy to a halt?

ElizabethHoytEH: Rejections are a part of a writer’s job so unfortunately you have to learn to handle them or you don’t get very far. Usually they don’t bother me too much. If they do, though, I have a special candle that I burn to get rid of the bad juju. LOL! As for people who try and destroy your joy, what is up with that? You’ve got to be pretty unhappy yourself to want to go out and make everyone else unhappy, too. Sadly some “reviewers” fall under this category so in general I simply don’t read reviews and negative blogs. Then I don’t have to get out my juju candle. 😉

WK: Do you have one passage, quote, saying, phrase or anything else that you feel best describes you and your way of living?

EH: Um…how about “Don’t sweat the small stuff”? 😉

WK: Do you put yourself or people you know in characters within your stories?

EH: Nope. 😉

WK:  Is there anything else you’d like readers to know or remember about you, your work, or what you’d hope they’d get from reading your stories?
EH: Well, I’m in the midst of writing a free novella for readers on my website this year. The Ice Princess is Coral Smythe’s story—Coral was the Aphrodite from The Raven Prince. Each month I’ve been posting a new chapter. You can go here to check it out: http://www.elizabethhoyt.com/books/iceprincess.php

Thank you for Ms. Hoyt for being my guest today. If you’d like to know more about Ms. Hoyt’s work please visit her website.

Thanks to the great and very generous people at Grand Central Publishing, I am thrilled to be able to offer 5 lucky commenters a copy of TO DESIRE A DEVIL by Elizabeth Hoyt. That’s right there are 5 copies up for grabs. This giveaway is open to the US and Canada only. No P.O. Boxes please. In order to win please post a comment to this post. Be sure to check out my review for another chance in the giveaway.

This giveaway is open from today until November 5th at 12pm EST. Please check back to see if you are a winner, do NOT leave your email address! Good luck to everyone.

 

