All About Novellas

 

I’m so excited to be here with you all today, especially because Feb the 24th is the release date of ANGELS’ PAWN, my special e-novella set in the Guild Hunter world. The first full-length novel, ANGELS’ BLOOD releases March 3rd.

 

So since I have a novella out today, I thought we’d talk about novellas. I like writing novellas because they let me explore areas of the story world that we might not otherwise get to see. A novella often also lets me learn more about secondary characters.

 

For example, Ashwini and Janvier in ANGELS’ PAWN make only the most fleeting appearance in ANGELS’ BLOOD (Janvier is only talked about!). But I was fascinated by their relationship from the instant I caught a glimpse of it. So when my editor asked me to write a novella, there was no question who I was going to write about.

 

(As an aside – both stories stand on their own, so you can dive into ANGELS’ PAWN or ANGELS’ BLOOD in whichever order you like.)

 

As a reader, I enjoy novellas because they give me a bite-sized read, but I still get that full-book feeling of satisfaction. And while I’m deep into deadlinitis, novellas are great because they don’t require as much of a time commitment.

 

Do you enjoy novellas? Any particular favorites? Any authors you wish would write more novellas?

 

Everyone who comments goes into a draw to win a copy of The Magical Christmas Cat, which includes my novella “Stroke of Enticement.” You can check out an excerpt on my website: http://www.nalinisingh.com (I’m currently travelling, so the prize will be posted out in a couple of weeks).

 

